We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely warm and friendly place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
open plan kitchen/living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
open plan kitchen/living area
modern farmhouse kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
open plan kitchen/living area
modern farmhouse kitchen
the Hemmel on a cloudy day
double/twin room
walk-in shower room
double bedroom for star gazers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Otterburn, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely warm and friendly place to stay”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The house was really lovely, we went for half term in February, the welcome was great we had warm scones, jam and cream on arrival, very nice. Great location, we spent most of the week in and around kielder forest which was about 45 minutes away, the location is great with amazing views and lots of great local walks, our little girl went for a 30minute horse ride locally which she loved. The hemmel has everything you need and is amazingly warm with the underfloor heating and wood burning Fire. The house is on a working farm which was great, just throw your wellies on and explore. We would definitely go back, thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stan420
Darlington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Modern, Spacious and New Barn Conversion, Ideal for a Peaceful Getaway”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at The Hemmel for a long weekend after previously staying at the neighbouring cottage on the Old Town Farm. Both are equally as nice but very different in appearance. The Hemmel is a lovely, modern barn conversion with everything you would need for a trip away to Northumberland. All the rooms are fantastic; the bathroom especially. It is well equipped with Wi-Fi and a DVD player and plenty of kit in the kitchen to keep the keenest of chefs happy!

It is in an ideal location, just off the A68 and only 25 minutes drive to Kielder which is beautiful.

It has an enclosed garden to the front and magnificent views of the Cheviot Hills and neighbouring Otterburn to the rear. There are plenty of walks nearby and Kate, the owner, is the perfect host who is always on hand with helpful advice.

The Hemmel is an ideal place for a small group to stay (no more than 4) and somewhere we would thoroughly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from your garden
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriab...
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful hideaway in a lovely place”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is one of the best holiday houses I have ever had the pleasure to stay in. On arrival a plate of home-made scones with jam and fresh cream was waiting for us, and that really set the tone for our stay. The Hemmel is spacious and stylish and has been tastefully and thoughtfully designed with every comfort you could wish for. We didn't want to leave! The owner was friendly and helpful but never intrusive, and we felt very much at home. The location is superb, right in the middle of nowhere in fantastic countryside. There are lots of great walks you can do, and several fine pubs nearby if you don't fancy cooking. We had a very restorative few days - thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space to relax
Liked least: Nothing except I didn't want to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee2607
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Little Haven”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Tranquility and relaxation with serene views taking your breathe away. The accommodation is outstanding well furnished and fully equipped, a perfect little home from home, we have been here twice this year and have booked again for two weeks next year, as a weeks is not long enough!
As a family of 4 two adults and 2 children (aged 14 & 9), this property was suitable for us all, close to surrounding villages and shops, plenty of places for those who like a short or long walk, as well as quiet for those moments of reading or relaxing, with plenty of room to play family outdoor and indoor games. We all loved the table tennis in the courtyard.
Kate the owner is absolutely fantastic, helpful, responsive, there when you need her but also respects your privacy. Kate's homemade scones and muffins are to die for! I had a hot stone massage and it was amazing felt so revived and relaxed afterwards, I would throughly recommend having one.

My family and I have fell in love with this home from home and I would dare you not to do the same.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing