We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay for all the family”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Donkey Barn

Stunning open plan kitchen & sitting room area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning open plan kitchen & sitting room area
Sitting area with wood burning stove Comfy recliner sofas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Stunning open plan kitchen & sitting room area
Sitting area with wood burning stove
Comfy recliner sofas
Large & light kitchen area
Front of Donkey Barn
Private and secluded garden area,perfect for children and dogs.
Twin bedroom
Kids bunk beds next to ensuite.
Kids play area can be accessed from double bed room & twin bed room
Children's play garden shared with two holiday lets. Some equipment removed due to H&S
Two tawny owls in care at The Sanctuary - however cannot be viewed due to licensing restrictions
Jess the barn owl in care at The Sanctuary (not on permanent view)
Rescued ponies & goats to feed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Morpeth, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Traceywit
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay for all the family”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We booked a weeks holiday with our 2 year old daughter and 70 year old mum and it really was a great place to stay. The cottage has been renovated very well and has a huge open plan kitchen and living room. The two main bedrooms are a decent size and the third room has been designed for kids with a bunk bed and animal duvets and curtains and a very nice en-suite shower room. There is also a separate modern bathroom.

The Donkey Barn is one of two holiday lets located on a wildlife sanctuary about 6 miles outside of Morpeth. Therefore one of the unique points of the place is having access to the sanctuary. Our daughter enjoyed playing in the outside play area each evening which can be accessed from the patio doors from the two main bedrooms. We also went out to feed the donkeys, goats and horses each evening so make sure you take plenty of ginger nut biscuits with you.

There were a few minor down points, the main train line runs along the boundary of the sanctuary about 300 metres from the property. However, whilst we could hear the trains during the day they did not wake us at night. The TV signal wasn't great and the cockerels get up pretty early, but it's the country and eating your breakfast with chickens clucking around outside and being able to see an array of animals from your kitchen window was fab and we would love to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne W
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unforgettable.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Myself, my partner and 3 daughters aged 20. 17 and 9 and our greyhound stayed at Goat Barn Cottage for 3 nights. Kim and Allan were incredible hosts, so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The cottage was beautiful and immaculately clean, spacious and airy, well equipped and comfortable, a thoughtful welcome pack of tea, coffee, wine and chocolate was provided, with a packet of ginger biscuits for the resident goats!
My 17 year old daughter thoroughly enjoyed her 3 days work experience at The Sanctuary. She hopes to study animal behaviour at uni and working with Allan and with the benefit of his vast experience and knowledge, feels she has a greater understanding in this field of work.
There is something here for everyone, beautiful walks, a childrens' play area and of course the animals being rescued and cared for tirelessly by our hosts.
Would we come again? Most definitely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danni-Mar...
Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Donkey Barn as a surprise for my dad's 50th birthday, and, having seen the photos online, were hopeful that they would live up to expectation in 'real life'. When we arrived at the barn we realised that in fact the photos don't do it justice. The barn is beautifully renovated; light and airy, with a fantastic open plan kitchen/living area which was perfect for our stay.

A party of five (mam, dad, and three grown up children - plus two dogs!), we had ample space for dining and socialising. We especially enjoyed using the lovely reclining sofas - very cosy to curl up on with a good book and a glass of wine!

The bedrooms and bathrooms are of an equally high standard with plenty of room for us 5 adult guests. The sofa bed in the snug is also handy for adults who might struggle to fit into the bunk beds (as our six foot something brother did!).

For us, the setting was idyllic. The Sanctuary itself is lovely to walk around and we enjoyed meeting the animals. Dunn the pony was a favourite! It is so peaceful and relaxing that we didn't want to come home!

Perhaps the best bit about the Donkey Barn is the small touches - a glass of wine ready for arrival, chocolates, lots of books ready for you to borrow at your leisure. These little things really made it feel like a home away from home. We thoroughly enjoyed chatting to Kim, the owner, who was lovely and made us feel extremely welcome. We can't wait to come back. Thank you for a fantastic stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan living area, beautiful location & delightful owners!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallfoy
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sanctuary for all concerned”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second property we have rented from holiday lettings and the second time we have been delighted. Donkey Barn offers the best of everything . Spacious well appointed wonderful location and the best of hosts .
If there was one thing that could have improved our visit it would have been to have our grandchildren with us. So I guess we will just have to come back again and maybe again and maybe......Well done to Kim and Allan for what they have achieved at the sanctuary do not know where you get the energy from. We shall return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly unforgettable weekend experience... Absolutely brilliant !!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

A beautiful cottage set in such lovely surroundings. Nothing can beat hearing happy donkeys hee-hawing in the morning. Excellent facilities overall and quality furnishings making you feel at home. A truly great experince indeed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, tranquillity and atmosphere around us
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing