We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing and over priced.”

Northumberland Arms
Ranked #11 of 106 Restaurants in Morpeth
Price range: US$11 - US$34
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A fully re-furbished 1820's Coaching Inn, originally built by the 3rd Duke of Northumberland. Beautiful bar, lounge and restaurant, immaculately decorated and next to the River Coquet. Six luxury en-suite rooms, accredited 5* by Quality in Tourism/Visit England. A la Carte Restaurant Open 7 days a week Breakfast 8.30Am to 10.30Am for residents and by request Brunch 10am until 12 noon Lunch Menu: 12 noon to 3pm Light Grazing Menu: 3-6pm Restaurant Open for Dinner: 6pm to 9pm and 9.30pm Friday/Saturday Sunday Lunch: 12 noon to 8pm For Reservations please call.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A beautiful village, Nice building, pleasant interior. We were very disappointed by the food. Fish and chips were actually fish and undercooked potato wedges. My sister in law and I had something termed 'bad boy chicken burger'. It was a ready made breaded chickeny thing in a bun with salsa etc. Clearly not made on the premises but taken out of the freezer and warmed up. Dry and unappetising. The main course was £14 and definitely not worth the money. House wine at over £7 a glass tasted like vinegar. Wont be going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laurainlalaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa C, General Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Laura,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your visit with us.

I'm disappointed to read you were not satisfied with your experience. I must assure you that our chicken burgers are made in-house with chicken breast which is first marinated with herbs and then coated with a nacho crumb, with jalapeno mayo & salsa (as stated on the menu), cooked to order & never frozen.

Apologies that you felt the wine was not up to scratch.

It's disheartening to read that you feel like you won't be back, but hopefully in the future you will give us another go.

Kind Regards,
Jake Castleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were at the Northumberland Arms Felton 24th April It was an excellent offer bed and breakfast and evening meal everything was perfect the room was excellent plenty of space king bed huge bathroom with walk shower and a large separate bath the night meal was a Steak night and I have to say the 3 courses were delicous Scallops to start with a tinge of Thialand the steaks were perfectly grilled mine medium rare my wife’s well done we finished off with etonmess and cheese and best of we’re the staff they were very attentive thanks Lloyd and Josephine Milligan

1  Thank Toon-Tea-cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your 5* feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed everything about your stay.

We hope we can welcome you back again.



Vanessa C
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Recommended by friends who live near Alnwick, met up for an evening meal. Was pleased it was dog friendly as we had just adopted a rescue dog and didn’t want to leave her for long periods. Reserved a table for 8 in the bar area and ordered drinks on arrival. Menu varied and had something for all tastes and at reasonable prices. Food served promptly which was delicious and freshly cooked. Staff were very welcoming and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. All in all a fantastic meal and highly recommended. We will return!

1  Thank moojoo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

So glad you have discovered us an had such a lovely meal and evening.

We look forward to your return and your rescue dog will always be welcome.



Vanessa C
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We rarely have time to ourselves so when we do escape for a weekend brake. We don’t mind paying the extra to relax and enjoy a good meal. For this trip as we’d eaten here about a year ago and found the food excellent so thought a nights stay Bed and Breakfast would be a treat.
Unfortunately we left disappointed. I don’t know if the pub is under new management but we found the staff not very welcoming. From check in to departure. We also had dinner in the restaurant and for the first hour were the only dinners, the staff stood just a few tables away busy taking about their hairstyles and what they’d do when they retired, this was not the best background atmosphere to dine in. Although the food was fare it was not to the standard we’ve had before. Similarly at breakfast we felt we where in the way and breakfast it’s self was a big disappointment after having heard how good it was supposed to be.
Having spent £185 for one nights B&B we expected more and won’t be returning.
It’s a real shame maybe it was a off weekend for them you’ll have better luck.

1  Thank 952JacquelineH952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

We are obviously saddened to read your review and can confirm we have had no changes in our management team.

We pride ourselves on our food as well as our customer service and our new Executive Head Chef (Matei Baran, Masterchef The Professionals 1/4 finalist) is receiving rave reviews for his food. Similarly, the TripAdvisor review directly below yours refers to the 'Best breakfast in a long time'.

Our restaurant was fully booked on the evening you dined; but perhaps because you dined early, it may have appeared not that busy initially.

Was there anything in particular you did not like with regards to the dishes you chose; if so, we only wish you had mentioned them there and then so we could have addressed them for you.

However, we do value your custom and apologise if you feel we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We hope you will return at some point to allow us another opportunity to impress.



Vanessa C
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic staff and great food. We stay in a lot of hotels but our experience here was great.
Thank you to all the staff

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank spethe188105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Northumberland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

What more can we say but thank you! Pleasure to have you stay with us and hope you will be back.



Vanessa C
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northumberland Arms also viewed

 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Felton, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Been to Northumberland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing