We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A house full of character and warmth”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Links View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room / kitchen Dining table (seating 8)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Dining room / kitchen
Dining table (seating 8)
Tiles with details of St Cuthbert's story
Living room
Toyboxes
Hallway and stairs to first floor
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Family bathroom
Library
Stairs to second floor
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Patio garden
The Castle
Sandham Bay
Across the sandflats to mainland, view of Cheviot and Hedgehope
View to the Farne Islands and Bamburgh Castle from the Heugh
St Cuthbert's Island with mainland beyond
Phil the grey seal
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holy Island, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Friederik...
2 reviews
“A house full of character and warmth”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We've been coming to stay regularly at Links View for nearly ten years. It's always a pleasure to stay at any time of year. The house is welcoming, spacious and well equipped with all mod cons. It's a great place to stay and unwind whether you visit with children, friends or on your own. A real haven away from all the bustle of everyday life and a great base for exploring the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The big family dining kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
Thanks for your comments - it's great to welcome back repeat visitors and know that they love Links View as much as we do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HevTim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway- great place to unwind”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Have been to Holy Island several times before but always in the summer with another family and always loved staying at Links view. My husband and I fancied a winter retreat and links view was available. Rachel, the owner, has been fantastic with communication etc nothing is too much trouble and the house has everything you need including good heating for the winter.The weather has been a bit different from the summer but with the right clothing it has not stopped us getting out for long glorious walks. The Island is always quiet but even more so in January although the Crown and Anchor is open all year serving food most nights and island store and post office also open for supplies. We love this place and would truly recommend to anyone wanting to really get away from the hustle and bustle. In the winter take your thermals and in the summer get your wetsuit on and bodyboard off North Shore.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2015
We're glad you enjoyed your break! Holy Island is a magical peaceful place in the winter, always plenty of crisp clear days and a warm house to come back to.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate L
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay!!!! beautiful location & excellent amenities”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in February 2014

Have been several times to links view and always look forward to going back, the house is really spacious and very comfortable, the kitchen is extremely well equipped and lovely area to have family gatherings. The bedrooms are very comfortable and WC 'S on every floor and the main bathroom has been recently done out to a very high standard. The house will suit everyone and well equipped also for young children with a selection of toys, games and dvd's. The house is situated only several minutes walk to the beach and small stroll to the castle, The Ship inn is also two minute walk away where we enjoy bar meals & drinks. I would highly recommend to everyone :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location for walks and comfortable beds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
Thankyou for your review, we are delighted that you enjoy the house and look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen J
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“tranquil location with scope to entertain young teens”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

This was our second time at this property over the long weekend of bonfire night. It's the ideal location for an accessible, amenity-packed rural escape. My daughter loved the freedom she had to safely explore the village (shops) with her friends and to imagine herself cut off from the world. The adults enjoyed this even more! Bracing walks to the castle and beach and back to a fabulous family kitchen - the heart of our home away from home - OK for muddy boots after a long walk but also good for fine dining! It was a great property and location to share with friends and youngsters; all the creature comforts to avoid fights over beds, pillows, shower etc. with plenty of space to get lost and find a quiet spot.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed the house and Island so much, and that your daughter and her friends found plenty to entertain them too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyMB_13
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Elegant house with loads of personality on a captivating island”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in July 2013

I absolutely love Holy Island and I absolutely love this house, which is why I've been back a couple more times with various friends and family members (who love it too).

Holy Island never gets old—unlike its relics and charms, which go back to the misnamed Dark Ages: Viking raids, monastic destruction, saintly sagas and miracles, the Lindisfarne Gospels, priory and pilgrims, and so on (you needn't be religious to get into all this).

This island is one of the rare places you can let kids romp pretty much unsupervised. They love it, and don't attempt to run away when the tide's out. Even in this small, safe space, there's lots to discover, whether along the shore (look for the little stone beach hut full of found treasures), through the village (look for great little shops selling fudge, Lindisfarne mead, and Celtic housewares), around the harbor (look for the castle, limestone kilns, birds and seals and whatnot), or in the dunes (look for the toddler we mislaid in 2011).

Links View is beautiful and extremely practical: elegantly decorated (wallpapered in William Morris), furnished, and equipped. Its layout is unusual, with two upstairs wings. Fabulous kitchen for big family meals, lovely living room, four great bedrooms, and the main bathroom looked brand new. The house was clean, with everything ready for us. The owner/manager is very responsive and accommodated our odd arrival time (she must be used to that, with the tides). I'm trying to think of a downside or problem for the sake of a "balanced" review, but actually can't come up with anything. Even the weather was surprisingly good—which isn't unusual, apparently, as Holy Island has its own little offshore microclimate. Hoping to get back in 2015 and this time will take a trip to the Farne Islands.

Btw—we didn't really lose our toddler in the dunes. We tried, but she wasn't having it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The combo of elegance and character
Liked least: One of the mattresses was a little soft... that's all i can think of.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2015
Thankyou - we are so glad that you enjoy your holidays at Links View so much, like many of our repeat visitors. And glad to hear about your toddler :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing