We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS -THE BEST HOLIDAY COTTAGE...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 6 Pier Maltings

Open-plan living on the second floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open-plan living on the second floor
Master bedroom door and balcony Ground-floor bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Open-plan living on the second floor
Master bedroom door and balcony
Ground-floor bedroom
Kitchen and dining area
The Pier Maltings river front
Mezzanine
First-floor family bathroom
Master bedroom
Ground-floor bedroom and ensuite
View from the ground-floor bedroom
Living area
Mezzanine window
The arch leading to Pier Maltings
Pier Maltings
View from the second floor
Berwick Pier from Pier Maltings
View down the coast from Pier Maltings
Spittal Point and the view down the coast
Berwick and its old bridge
Berwick's Royal Tweed Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dawnwoods
lancashire
1 review
“ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS -THE BEST HOLIDAY COTTAGE EVER! OWNERS FANTASTIC & HELPFUL PEOPLE, COULDN'T RECC HIGHLY ENOUGH A++++”
Reviewed 28 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

We stayed in 6 Pier Maltings for a 7 day period just after new year. The cottage itself has been built with only the best and most expensive materials possible. The kitchen has top quality equipment and granite worktops plus a huge table which we used nearly every night to sit down to a family dinner. The bed and all the bedding are again top quality and extremely comfortable. There was also a loptop in the cottage for use and the surround sound on the TV was second to none!!!! I have never known my children have as many baths as they did this holiday due to the spa bath which is in the main bathroom!!!! Katharine, the owner was also very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were also very impressed by the fact that the cottage encouraged everything "green" and of course all the things that were provided were top quality non-invasive and non toxic. Even the dryer was kind to the environment which we found amazing. We travel up and down the Country with our sons tennis and can honestly say that this is by far the best holiday cottage that we have ever stayed in. A very big thankyou for a wonderful holiday, we will certainly be returning back for another stay!!!!
Dawn, Mark, Chloe & Mark.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!!
Liked least: Nothing!!!!
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coppernor...
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a Fantastic Find”
Reviewed 30 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This rental is a cut above the rest. The property is in a wonderful position and beautifully furnished. From the windows we watched high and low tides and the sun rise and set - simply stunning. When we arrived the table was set for tea which included a home baked cake. There are some basic essentials supplied such as toilet paper, washing up liquid, kitchen paper,washing powder, some beautiful hand and body cream plus hand wash. In the kitchen, which is very well equipped, there was veg oil, vinegar, S & P and a few herbs and spices.
There are some lovely walks around the ramparts, along side the Tweed and along the coast in both directions. The property is a 5 min walk to the centre of Berwick which is a lovely old town. The Barrels pub on Bridge St near the old bridge is a oldy worldly pub with an excellent pint (or 3) which accepts dogs if you like to take your pet on holiday with you.
The only negative I could think of was that we were unable to get into the property till 4pm which we found a little late.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: 4pm check in
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2011
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We understand that it makes a difference to get into the property sooner - next season we'll change it to 3pm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iannrain
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC !!!”
Reviewed 6 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

What a fantastic holiday let, table laid for afternoon tea with lemon drizzel cake excellent.
Great location, this property is 5* we loved staying and will hopefully book again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire597...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What an amazing stay!! The best.”
Reviewed 5 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at 6 Pier Maltings, and its not the same without the sound of the waves and the birds. We had such a wonderful time. The property is beautiful inside and out; equipped with everything you could need to make a first class holiday. The house became a home; from our lovely afternoon tea welcome, to our rainy afternoon spent curled up on the sofa. The pictures dont do it justice. Its set in a wonderful part of the UK and we visited Bamburgh Castle, Holy Island and the hidden but breathe taking Cheswick sands, which were all on our doorstep. We even hopped on a train and spent one day in Edinburgh (45min journey). We couldnt rate this place more highly for a stylish, warm and exhilirating UK break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views!
Liked least: Loved it all :)
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAW476
Paisley, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous house in a great location”
Reviewed 23 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Table laid for tea when we arrived with a cake, house is lovely, very luxurious and right on the seafront with the beach close by.
Close to town centre. Had a very nice meal at the Queens head just around the corner.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing