We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First Class, Fantastic Large Family Cottage with...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Moorings.

Dolphins off Beadnell bay Can been seen from Lounge , if you're lucky!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dolphins off Beadnell bay Can been seen from Lounge , if you're lucky!!
Open plan Lounge with Superb Sea Views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Dolphins off Beadnell bay Can been seen from Lounge , if you're lucky!!
Open plan Lounge with Superb Sea Views
Lounge with cosy open fire
Beadnell Bay, only 2 minutes walk
Kitchen Diner
Spacious well equipped Kitchen
Beadnell Beach
Dog Friendly beach!
Conservatory ideal sunny room for relaxing
Conservatory with doors to Balcony
Beadnell Bay
Beadnell Harbour
Pool Table with seating and Patio doors to garden
View from Lounge
View from the lounge and kitchen
Enclosed back garden with picnic bench.
View from the house
Stunning Beach
Bunk room sleeps 4 children (connecting door to family room)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Beadnell, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wjl1608
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First Class, Fantastic Large Family Cottage with superb views”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

First class cottage and location. We knew the location was good before we booked but did not expect the cottage to be so spacious and equipped with everything you need. We had a fantastic time and with 10 of us staying here did not feel we were tripping over each other. The living/dining/kitchen area is just superb and the bedrooms are a good size with plenty of cupboard/drawer space. The free WiFi was a great bonus for the children and adults as we took our own laptop so could watch the Ryder Cup on our SkyGo account on the TV in the sitting room.

If there was one thing which could improve the cottage it would be for another shower-room to be added, because we had 10 of us staying and there were only 2 showers it took a bit of time to get ready to go out at night.

I called the owners on our return to say what a great time we had because we were so pleased with choosing this for our family get together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How spacious it was and the location was superb
Liked least: Would have been handy to have another shower (there are 2 but another one would have been handy)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Hi, thank you for your your kind review and comments for The Moorings. It was really nice of you to personnally ring me to say how much you had enjoyed your stay.

I agree that another shower would be great. I have, in the past, looked at this option and the only way to add one is to make a shower room where the utility room is, but after much considersation keeping the utility room is a better option as it allows guests to take their dogs. I hope it did not delay your evening too much.

Thank you once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the upstairs views
Liked least: Downstairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jamie R
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely house and a fantastic location with beautiful views”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a lovely family holiday here, 1 week with my wife and 8 month old twin boys. The upstairs in this house was very well cared for it is very well fitted out and the views from the living room and dining room could not have been better. The bedrooms were more than adequate but the downstairs communal space is looking a little tired and could do with some TLC. I am being picky here it in no way detracted from our stay but compared to the rest of the house it wasn't to the same standard.
The house owner was lovely and communicated everything we needed in plenty of time before arrival, 2 travel cots were provided and it looked like the 2 high chairs were bought brand new for our stay. The first impression of the house was made even better by the complimentary wine and cookies that were left for us!. I don't know if they do that for every guest but they should as it put a big smile on our faces and made us feel welcome especially as we had not brought any with us.
Beadnell is gorgeous and exactly what we wanted, a week away from it all. in a morning or on an evening walking the dog I felt like I was the only person within 20 miles it was wonderful. Local area was good 2 friendly local pubs serving good food and coffee and so much to see and do with all the castles and history. A gorgeous beach and harbour were 2 minutes walk from the house, my boys loved building sand castles! A great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Views
Liked least: downstairs communal area
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased you had a great stay and the twins enjoyed the beach. Yes I do leave a welcome bottle of wine as I hope it adds a nice touch as I want the holiday to start off well! The decorator is already booked for January 2015 to update the downstairs. We have been so busy with bookings, it has been hard to fit decorating jobs in, but hopefully a new look for next year. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house and the position
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colin W
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect for families”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Lovely house in a superb location. The house has everything you need for your holiday to be the enjoyable time you hope for, plus a few little extras. The grandkids enjoyed the toy boxes, and the adults enjoyed the views while mastering the kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing