We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful week”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Middle'In

Barbican built in 1440, opposite apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barbican built in 1440, opposite apartment
Spacious bedroom with Superking sized bed. Looking out of cosy lounge, window seat, IPOD/CD/radio and desk.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
61 reviews
Barbican built in 1440, opposite apartment
Spacious bedroom with Superking sized bed.
Looking out of cosy lounge, window seat, IPOD/CD/radio and desk.
The Middle'In Apartment, Alnwick - Graded II listed building
Alnwick Castle
Bathroom with bath/shower, WC, hand basin.
Kitchen with cooker, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, washer, tumble dryer
Alnwick International Music Festival
Cosy reading corner and window seat
Lounge with Digital TV, Freeview, DVD player. IPOD player/CD
Super comfort in spacious bedroom with reading corner
Relaxing and Dining for two
Snuggle up with a good book
Relaxing Lounge, with views of Barbican from window seat
Dining area with Complimentary Welcome Basket
Barbican built in 1440, opposite apartment
Lounge Window
Cosy Lounge Dining Room
Two minute walk to Alnwick Pastures and Alnwick Castle
Northumberland beach - Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty
Relaxing beach walks just minutes away.
Craster Harbour with local Smoke House and famous kippers
Sugar Sands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tim S
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful week”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent a week in Alnwick staying at this flat. It was ideally situated directly opposite the gate in to Alnwick Castle - well worth a visit to both gardens and castle - and close to the centre of the town. The flat was clean and well appointed with everything we needed. A parking permit was provided for spaces just round the corner. The weather was kind to us and we had a wonderful sunny tour around Northumberland. Would definitely go back and recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul838
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location for both Alnwick town centre and the surrounding area”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic property located just a couple of minutes walk from the town centre, directly opposite the castle gates. Free, on-street parking just around the corner using the parking permit provided.

Smallish but well-proportioned extremely clean one bedroom flat, fully equipped with a very nice touch of a ‘Welcome Basket’. Excellent spot to explore the surrounding villages and beautiful coast-line with numerous scenic walking opportunities with several welcoming excellent pubs overlooking the coast. Alternatively, leave the car and walk around the compact town of Alnwick which has numerous eating and drinking venues, Alnwick Playhouse, the ‘Treehouse’, Hulne Park etc.

I really can’t find fault with this property, especially given the great weekly rates.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineC53...
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed at the Middle'In last week (19/22 Feb) for a 3 night break and really enjoyed it. The property is in a great location directly opposite Alnwick Castle with parking (permit supplied) just around the corner. The apartment is beautifully decorated with all home comforts supplied, I can't actually think of anything that we needed that wasn't there - which is unusual in self catering! There was even a lovely 'welcome' box with a few goodies, fresh milk in the fridge and fresh flowers in the lounge - very thoughtful.
We couldn't quite get to grips with the timings on the central heating but it wasn't a problem as there was an override switch to keep it on so it was lovely and cosy.
The weather was gloriously sunny, though freezing cold and we had some lovely walks around the area and a visit to Bamburgh Castle - unfortunately Alwick Castle didn't open until the end of next month.
I'd highly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality decor
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We were delighted by the apartment, both by its position in Alnwick, and by the facilities. It was very warm and comfortable, and had everything we needed. In particular, the bed was huge, and excellent. We would certainly hope to go back in the future. I have already recommended it to others.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal accommodation”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed in Middle'In for a week during which time we re-acquainted ourselves with Alnwick and its surrounding areas. We were glad to have the welcome pack after our drive from Scotland. The apartment was spotless and extremely comfortable, great bed, etc. It was also prettily furnished and the kitchen was equipped really well. It was an ideal home from home. The entrance to the apartment was only a stone's throw away from the entrance to Alnwick Castle and so handy to return to after visiting the castle and the gardens. We walked a fair bit around the town and toured along the coast road to Bamburgh visiting several small towns and beauty spots along the way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and cosiness of the apartment
Liked least: Lack of free wi-fi.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$120
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing