We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Wicksteed Park

Wicksteed Park
Ranked #3 of 113 things to do in Kettering
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Wicksteed Park is based in Kettering, Northamptonshire and the large 147 acre ground is a wonderful mix of rides, attractions and beautiful countryside and wildlife. Wicksteed also boasts two private function rooms, ideal for weddings, private functions and corporate hire in the Northamptonshire and Midlands region. The is also a family camp site which boasts a modern loo and shower block, and beautiful views over the lake. It's the perfect way to make the most of Wicksteed Park. You wake up just seconds away from our rides, cafés and playgrounds, and get special second-day discounts on our wristbands. 2018 opening dates will be updated shortly.
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Living local to Wicksteed Park means I visit several times during the year. It's a great all round place that has plenty to do for free and also if you like rides etc then a tickets or wristbands can be used. From walks around the grounds and lake to a rollercoaster and old fashioned carousel,you can do it all.
It's not a large scale amusement park like others but a good combination and well worth a days visit.

Thank Pagrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Public Relations Manager at Wicksteed Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Good morning Pagrev, thank you for your review! That is great to hear, and we are glad to hear you enjoy coming to wicksteed Park! We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"roller coaster"
in 70 reviews
"zip wire"
in 76 reviews
"log flume"
in 57 reviews
"alton towers"
in 51 reviews
"all ages"
in 97 reviews
"buy tickets"
in 37 reviews
"water chute"
in 31 reviews
"tesco vouchers"
in 18 reviews
"train ride"
in 41 reviews
"pirate ship"
in 37 reviews
"free playground"
in 28 reviews
"swings and slides"
in 20 reviews
"racing cars"
in 20 reviews
"go karts"
in 29 reviews
"big rides"
in 16 reviews
"great family day"
in 28 reviews
"fish and chips"
in 22 reviews
Filter

59 - 63 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

A great day out for a family with younger children. I would say its best for 10 years and under due to the size of the rides. The prices for the wristbands were great value and the parking was really easy too. The only reason I haven't given 5 stars is as a vegetarian I felt the selection of food on offer was poor. Even the selection of sandwiches were meat orientated. And the egg or cheese sandwiches weren't made clear if they were suitable with the mayo or chutney inside.
Also a clear indication of the length of queues is non existent. At most theme parks you get a sign saying your wait will be 45 minutes for example from this point. That would be really helpful to plan what rides to go on. However my 5 year old niece had a fantastic time and I would certainly visit again but would probably take a picnic if you are a veggie

1  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Public Relations Manager at Wicksteed Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Good morning Rachel. Thank you for your review, we have more food outlets coming soon, and will ensure that they offer a vegetarian option. We shall make sure that this is apparent to see upon your next viusit. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Thinking it would be ok to spend 3-4 hours, we went bit late. But this place has so much to offer.
We were 3 families with four 6yo, but not was it fun.
Will visit back soon.

Thank Pallavi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Public Relations Manager at Wicksteed Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hello Pallavi S. Thnak you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

I rarely write up a review for a place on Tripadvisor, but I've made a point of doing it for this place because I was so impressed.

We have kids from 3 to 9 and rarely do we go somewhere that so perfectly caters for everyone. The place is enormous for a start, free entry and you pay for the various attractions by buying tickets or an armband which allows unlimited goes on most stuff. (the website says most rides cost 2-3 tickets each, but most actually cost two tickets and many only cost 1 - the little kiddie stuff is all 1 ticket each for example). We ended up using about 70 tickets for 6 of us for the whole day. There are some things that you have to pay extra for and there's also a bunch of stuff that's completely free.

The following is an non exhaustive list:

- Huge adventure playground (free) plus several smaller playgrounds.
- Various fun-fare style rides including plenty for todler aged kids and a few mini roller coaster types (not proper theme park stuff but still very fun for the older kids).
- Two boating lakes - one for small kids (my 3yr old went on a hand driven pedlo by herself along with the other kids) and one bigger lake with row boats and bigger pedalos.
- Around the lake area there's also a sand pit adventure playground and a 'monorail' ride that is pedal powered!
- There's a lakeside walk with a 'beach' bit as well though we didn't make it that far round the lake.
- Proper petrol go carts complete with slanted track
- Dodgems
- 8m drop slide
- Huge great big wiggly slide
- Huge train ride round large area of the park
- Big green areas to run around in
- Crazy golf
- Tree top walk
- Various small animal attraction (farm type + meer cats)
- Softplay (have to pay extra - not included with tickets or wristband)
- Laser quest (have to pay extra - not included with tickets or wristband)
- Rock climbing (have to pay extra)
- Massive (and i mean massive) zip wire (pay extra)
- Jumping of a giant tower onto an inflatable crash cushion (pay extra)

That's everything I could think of on the top of my head. My oldest said it was in the top 3 outings he's ever been on! Only gripe is that's it's so far away from London where we live!

3  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Public Relations Manager at Wicksteed Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Good afternoon Ben! This is really great to read! We love to hear from people about Wicksteed Park and can not thank you enough for this review! I am glad we have left such a positive experience for you and your family! Whenever you fee like travelling from London, we look forward to seeing you again at Wicksteed Park! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Fantastic family day out for all ages. Car park £6 for whole day. We bought wristbands online which saves you £2-3 each. Tickets cost £1.30 each and rides are between 1-4 tickets, so wristbands work out best. Cost us £54 for 3 adults and 1 child wristband. The only things not included are zip line, stunt jump and climbing wall. These are an additional £6 each activity. But there is plenty to do. Plenty of rides and animals for smaller children and rowing boats, roller coaster, log flume and zip wire for older children. Food outlets were reasonably priced meal deal avalible burger,chips and drink for £6. Easy to get around park with buggy or wheelchair. Staff really friendly and helpful.

2  Thank Mrs Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Public Relations Manager at Wicksteed Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Good afternoon Rachel, This is great to hear you had a fantastic day at Wicksteed Park! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wicksteed Park also viewed

Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Kettering, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Wicksteed Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing