We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing day out and exceptionally good value for money”
Review of Wicksteed Park

Wicksteed Park
Ranked #3 of 123 things to do in Kettering
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Wicksteed Park is based in Kettering, Northamptonshire and the large 147 acre ground is a wonderful mix of rides, attractions and beautiful countryside and wildlife. Wicksteed also boasts two private function rooms, ideal for weddings, private functions and corporate hire in the Northamptonshire and Midlands region. The is also a family camp site which boasts a modern loo and shower block, and beautiful views over the lake. It's the perfect way to make the most of Wicksteed Park. You wake up just seconds away from our rides, cafés and playgrounds, and get special second-day discounts on our wristbands. 2018 opening dates will be updated shortly.
Reviewed 15 August 2018

I rarely write up a review for a place on Tripadvisor, but I've made a point of doing it for this place because I was so impressed.

We have kids from 3 to 9 and rarely do we go somewhere that so perfectly caters for everyone. The place is enormous for a start, free entry and you pay for the various attractions by buying tickets or an armband which allows unlimited goes on most stuff. (the website says most rides cost 2-3 tickets each, but most actually cost two tickets and many only cost 1 - the little kiddie stuff is all 1 ticket each for example). We ended up using about 70 tickets for 6 of us for the whole day. There are some things that you have to pay extra for and there's also a bunch of stuff that's completely free.

The following is an non exhaustive list:

- Huge adventure playground (free) plus several smaller playgrounds.
- Various fun-fare style rides including plenty for todler aged kids and a few mini roller coaster types (not proper theme park stuff but still very fun for the older kids).
- Two boating lakes - one for small kids (my 3yr old went on a hand driven pedlo by herself along with the other kids) and one bigger lake with row boats and bigger pedalos.
- Around the lake area there's also a sand pit adventure playground and a 'monorail' ride that is pedal powered!
- There's a lakeside walk with a 'beach' bit as well though we didn't make it that far round the lake.
- Proper petrol go carts complete with slanted track
- Dodgems
- 8m drop slide
- Huge great big wiggly slide
- Huge train ride round large area of the park
- Big green areas to run around in
- Crazy golf
- Tree top walk
- Various small animal attraction (farm type + meer cats)
- Softplay (have to pay extra - not included with tickets or wristband)
- Laser quest (have to pay extra - not included with tickets or wristband)
- Rock climbing (have to pay extra)
- Massive (and i mean massive) zip wire (pay extra)
- Jumping of a giant tower onto an inflatable crash cushion (pay extra)

That's everything I could think of on the top of my head. My oldest said it was in the top 3 outings he's ever been on! Only gripe is that's it's so far away from London where we live!

3  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Public Relations Manager at Wicksteed Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Good afternoon Ben! This is really great to read! We love to hear from people about Wicksteed Park and can not thank you enough for this review! I am glad we have left such a positive experience for you and your family! Whenever you fee like travelling from London, we look forward to seeing you again at Wicksteed Park! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"roller coaster"
in 68 reviews
"log flume"
in 56 reviews
"zip wire"
in 73 reviews
"alton towers"
in 51 reviews
"all ages"
in 97 reviews
"buy tickets"
in 37 reviews
"water chute"
in 31 reviews
"tesco vouchers"
in 17 reviews
"pirate ship"
in 37 reviews
"train ride"
in 40 reviews
"free playground"
in 27 reviews
"swings and slides"
in 20 reviews
"racing cars"
in 19 reviews
"go karts"
in 29 reviews
"big rides"
in 16 reviews
"great family day"
in 28 reviews
"fish and chips"
in 22 reviews
Filter

43 - 47 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2018

Fantastic family day out for all ages. Car park £6 for whole day. We bought wristbands online which saves you £2-3 each. Tickets cost £1.30 each and rides are between 1-4 tickets, so wristbands work out best. Cost us £54 for 3 adults and 1 child wristband. The only things not included are zip line, stunt jump and climbing wall. These are an additional £6 each activity. But there is plenty to do. Plenty of rides and animals for smaller children and rowing boats, roller coaster, log flume and zip wire for older children. Food outlets were reasonably priced meal deal avalible burger,chips and drink for £6. Easy to get around park with buggy or wheelchair. Staff really friendly and helpful.

2  Thank Mrs Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Public Relations Manager at Wicksteed Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Good afternoon Rachel, This is great to hear you had a fantastic day at Wicksteed Park! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We met up with family with much younger children but there is lots to do for everyone
We chose a busy day to go and the queues were longer for the bigger rides, but nothing compared to the queues at major theme parks. Some of the less adventurous rides had hardly any queues. We have visited a never of times and each time we return there have been more improvements. The wristbands offer better value for money than the tickets if you plan on staying all day. We booked online to save a bit more. We booked on the morning of the visit and we're still able to get the discount.
Cannot comment on the food as we took our own. Make sure you allow for parking charges in your budget.
A good day out for all ages. The adults favourite ride was the astro slide!

Thank C7625GOmichelleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Public Relations Manager at Wicksteed Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hello C7625GOmichelleb, that is great to hear you had a great time at Wicksteed Park! We look forward to seeing you again soon, and racing down the Astroslide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We visited purely by chance as was in the area buying a car. We had 4 hours to kill and found wicksteed park. On entering it was clear you only needed to pay for rides etc and is free if your just using the park and having a walk round. We bought the kids a day pass at £19 each and boy they had fun, so much so we drove back for the day 2 days later, on this occasion they went on a zip wire which is quite long and high and only £7 each. We all enjoyed a train ride round the park which was great to get a look at what's where, and we played crazy golf. Its definitely a place I feel we will regularly visit. There's lots of fair rides, indoor activities, animals, boating lake... I could go on.

Thank rjlanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Public Relations Manager at Wicksteed Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Hello Rjlanes! This is great to hear you visited us by chance and had such a great time you came back! Its always great to hear from people that did not know about Wicksteed Park and have had a great time here! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Visited today and although some rides were delayed or stopped due to rain, it was still worthwhile. Opted for wristbands although height still checked at each ride thst was minimum of 0.9m for my son who had a mini me wristband, even though needs to be above 0.9m. Gutted height for go karts is 1m yet paratroopers is 0.9m. They both loved the ladybug rollercoaster - brakes very severe at end and thrown forward a few of times we were on. Thunderstorm towards end of day resulted in us going into soft play - an extra £1 each but worth it to be in dry and still playing.
Food outlets reasonably priced - although hot drink prices varied between outlets - could do with different type of machine in little cafe opposite fish and chip as can only do 1 drink at time. Having not been for a while and before having children, alongside reading recent reviews I was sceptical of visiting although we all had a blast and rain didn't stop this, even though some rides were delayed or closed for safety during these heavier storms - safety paramount.
Would recommend the astroslide if have young children (or any age), as inside and great laugh had by all ages. Pedal monorail isn't great in poor weather as views not as good but still fun.

Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Public Relations Manager at Wicksteed Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Good afternoon Joanne, thank you for your review! WE always like to lsiten to our customer so will be taking note of the extra coffee machiene in The Carousel. We can't wait to see you again at Wicksteed Park again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wicksteed Park also viewed

Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Kettering, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Wicksteed Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing