We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely day trip”
Review of Wicksteed Park

Wicksteed Park
Ranked #3 of 123 things to do in Kettering
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Wicksteed Park is based in Kettering, Northamptonshire and the large 147 acre ground is a wonderful mix of rides, attractions and beautiful countryside and wildlife. Wicksteed also boasts two private function rooms, ideal for weddings, private functions and corporate hire in the Northamptonshire and Midlands region. The is also a family camp site which boasts a modern loo and shower block, and beautiful views over the lake. It's the perfect way to make the most of Wicksteed Park. You wake up just seconds away from our rides, cafés and playgrounds, and get special second-day discounts on our wristbands. 2018 opening dates will be updated shortly.
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We met up with family with much younger children but there is lots to do for everyone
We chose a busy day to go and the queues were longer for the bigger rides, but nothing compared to the queues at major theme parks. Some of the less adventurous rides had hardly any queues. We have visited a never of times and each time we return there have been more improvements. The wristbands offer better value for money than the tickets if you plan on staying all day. We booked online to save a bit more. We booked on the morning of the visit and we're still able to get the discount.
Cannot comment on the food as we took our own. Make sure you allow for parking charges in your budget.
A good day out for all ages. The adults favourite ride was the astro slide!

Thank C7625GOmichelleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Public Relations Manager at Wicksteed Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hello C7625GOmichelleb, that is great to hear you had a great time at Wicksteed Park! We look forward to seeing you again soon, and racing down the Astroslide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"roller coaster"
in 68 reviews
"log flume"
in 56 reviews
"zip wire"
in 73 reviews
"alton towers"
in 51 reviews
"all ages"
in 97 reviews
"buy tickets"
in 37 reviews
"water chute"
in 31 reviews
"tesco vouchers"
in 17 reviews
"pirate ship"
in 37 reviews
"train ride"
in 40 reviews
"free playground"
in 27 reviews
"swings and slides"
in 20 reviews
"racing cars"
in 19 reviews
"go karts"
in 29 reviews
"big rides"
in 16 reviews
"great family day"
in 28 reviews
"fish and chips"
in 22 reviews
Filter

45 - 49 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We visited purely by chance as was in the area buying a car. We had 4 hours to kill and found wicksteed park. On entering it was clear you only needed to pay for rides etc and is free if your just using the park and having a walk round. We bought the kids a day pass at £19 each and boy they had fun, so much so we drove back for the day 2 days later, on this occasion they went on a zip wire which is quite long and high and only £7 each. We all enjoyed a train ride round the park which was great to get a look at what's where, and we played crazy golf. Its definitely a place I feel we will regularly visit. There's lots of fair rides, indoor activities, animals, boating lake... I could go on.

Thank rjlanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Public Relations Manager at Wicksteed Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Hello Rjlanes! This is great to hear you visited us by chance and had such a great time you came back! Its always great to hear from people that did not know about Wicksteed Park and have had a great time here! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Visited today and although some rides were delayed or stopped due to rain, it was still worthwhile. Opted for wristbands although height still checked at each ride thst was minimum of 0.9m for my son who had a mini me wristband, even though needs to be above 0.9m. Gutted height for go karts is 1m yet paratroopers is 0.9m. They both loved the ladybug rollercoaster - brakes very severe at end and thrown forward a few of times we were on. Thunderstorm towards end of day resulted in us going into soft play - an extra £1 each but worth it to be in dry and still playing.
Food outlets reasonably priced - although hot drink prices varied between outlets - could do with different type of machine in little cafe opposite fish and chip as can only do 1 drink at time. Having not been for a while and before having children, alongside reading recent reviews I was sceptical of visiting although we all had a blast and rain didn't stop this, even though some rides were delayed or closed for safety during these heavier storms - safety paramount.
Would recommend the astroslide if have young children (or any age), as inside and great laugh had by all ages. Pedal monorail isn't great in poor weather as views not as good but still fun.

Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Public Relations Manager at Wicksteed Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Good afternoon Joanne, thank you for your review! WE always like to lsiten to our customer so will be taking note of the extra coffee machiene in The Carousel. We can't wait to see you again at Wicksteed Park again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

An expensive day out. Can’t believe that parking isn’t included in the price when you spend money on wristbands and/or numerous tickets. There really should be a price ceiling that once you reach, the parking is included. The food was abominable as well. Even when you don’t include parking, I don’t think it’s very good value for money. Wouldn’t go again.

Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Public Relations Manager at Wicksteed Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Good afternoon Claire, we are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience at Wicksteed Park. Our parking is explained on our website, and we believe the prices are fair for the time that is spent here. Entry to the park is free so you can enjoy our grounds, which is nearly 150 acres, without having to pay which is a great experience. We hope to see you again at Wicksteed Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

So at the cost we paid it was such a disappointment . We queued for 20 mins to get wrist band as the box office had only 2 staff both very inexperienced

There were no places to get a decent snack , the cafe was full and the wait was an hour , the fish and chips the chip fryer was broken . Half the rides were closed because it had rained . The place was totally disorganised and run by kids who didn’t have a clue what they were doing

2  Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S, Public Relations Manager at Wicksteed Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Good afternoon Droopydrawrs52. We are sorry to hear about the experience you have received at Wicksteed Park. We hope this changes next time you come and visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wicksteed Park also viewed

Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Kettering, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Wicksteed Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing