We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovey flat everything we needed was there”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 Woodspring

One bedroom apartment without juliette
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One bedroom apartment without juliette
One bedroom apartment without juliette One bedroom apartment without juliette
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
One bedroom apartment without juliette
One bedroom apartment without juliette
One bedroom apartment without juliette
One bedroom apartment without juliette
One bedroom apartment without juliette
One bedroom apartment without juliette
One bedroom apartment without juliette
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Thomas K
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovey flat everything we needed was there”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Flat was clean tidy and nothing was amiss we had a very enjoyable holiday and will probably visit again next year

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alshookup...
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit like my school report.."could do better"”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from 3 nights at 1 Woodspring. Pleasantly surprised with the apartment overall but small niggly things could be put right at very little cost which would improve it no- end. The shower in the bathroom is almost useless and has little power. Also, in this age of health and safety I would expect a shower mat on the bath to stop users slipping and one on the floor to step on when getting out of the bath. Towels were a bit on the small side and soon became damp during use. Boiler noisy particularly when in bed trying to sleep. Bed very uncomfortable having a hard mattress. All in all, good value for money let down slightly by small irritations. The Bay itself is really nice and the pub grub was excellent and piping hot. As other reviewers say, a small shop on site would be a big plus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Very clean and well decorated.
Liked least: Uncomfortable bed, poor shower and towel size.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waldershe...
south yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent Value Accomodation”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just returned from our 5 day stay. The apartment was pretty much as expected. Ample space for the two of us and medium sized dog. Plenty of utensils in the kitchen which were all clean on arrival and the place smelt freshly cleaned all round. Towels could do with being a bit bigger, but I am used to bath sheets, also very much needed is a shower mat and bath mat in the bathroom, I used a hand towel to prevent slipping which is not ideal. Bed was comfortable and linen clean and fresh. Yes, the boiler is a little on the noisy side and the place felt very warm on entry into the hallway.

A few more coat hangers in the wardrobe please, struggled a bit even with clothing only meant for a few days stay. otherwise bedroom comfortable and plenty of drawer space. All drawers were clean.

The living room was more than adequate for the amount of time we spent in there to be honest. Nice and bright and clean. Kitchen, everything worked and enough crockery/utensils etc for our needs.

Overall, ideally placed for us, we walked along the meadow towards the pub, coffee shop and beach access, great for the dog, plenty of running space. Our walks to the beach took about a half hour into Filey and were glorious! Coffee at Hunmanby Gap is only a 15 minute walk in the opposite direction.

Any complaint at all would be the 4.30 check in, appreciate time needed for cleaning but, we were hanging around a bit with a car full of stuff.

Fab holiday, will be back again no doubt! Thanks!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: 4.30 check in
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael M
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awful Apartment, Lovely Grounds”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just returned from a 3 night stay. The apartment was tiny (photos are deceiving) and dirty. The whole place needs a deep clean. The front room has a large table with 4 chairs (only 2 required) which would create a bit more space. There are no blinds so it's either open or closed. No bath mat for slippy laminate floor. Noisy boiler in bedroom. VERY uncomfortable bed. Springs dig in body and ache in the morning. No welcome pack, just a drawer full of old leaflets. For £170 + £15 for a dog for less than a 3 day stay ( check in at 16:30-check out 10:00 is awful value for money. The resort itself was lovely, no faults. We will never book a Skelworth property again. Waste of money, a tent would have been more welcoming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
I refute all your comments. The apartment is not dirty and is a generous size for a one bed apartment. Re the charge for your stay the price is very moderate for nights which included the charge for your dog bedding towels tea towel leisure pass to a pool steam room and sauna etc. Where you usually holiday must be quite exceptional
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely short break in a beautiful part of the UK”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We've just returned from a 4 night break in 1 Woodspring at The Bay, Filey. The apartment was modern, compact and comfortable; it was ideal for a couple. It was really clean and provided us with all we needed (including a dishwasher!). The Bay is a good base for visiting the surrounding coastal resorts and the many places of interest in North Yorkshire. The on-site pub, the John Paul Jones, is a lovely place to relax after a busy day sightseeing. We will more than likely book the apartment again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing