We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sunny filey”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Roobarb's Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Roobarb's Retreat
Roobarb's Retreat Holiday Cottage and off road parking on right. Front view of cottage across the village green, with off road parking on the right.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Front of Roobarb's Retreat
Roobarb's Retreat Holiday Cottage and off road parking on right.
Front view of cottage across the village green, with off road parking on the right.
Roobarb's Retreat on the right with view up towards the John Paul Jones pub!
Back of Roobarb's Retreat and patio furniture
Roobarb's Retreat side view, parking and garden
Dining area
Dining and open plan kitchen,
Second double bedroom
En-suite bedroom
En-suite shower room
Family bathroom
Twin Bedroom
Twin bedroom
Comfortable seating area for six.
Living space
Kitchen with integrated appliances and welcome hamper.
Hall
Complementary access to the 20m swimming pool.
Complementary access to the gym.
Activities available at The Bay
Tennis court 100 m from the cottage.
Donkey rides on Filey Beach
Alice on her way to the beach.
Empty beach looking south towards Bempton Cliffs.
The boat house, swans, fishing lake and dogs close to the cottage.
Meadows behind the cottage for wonderful wildlife and sea-view walks.
On the tennis court
The swimming pool
The deep end
Open plan living area.
Garden and patio
Dining area
Fitted kitchen
King size bed in master bedroom
dining area and kitchen
Master bedroom
Twin bedroom
Master bedroom
Double bedroom with flat screen tv
Family bathroom
French doors to garden
Double bedroom at back
Sitting room
Sitting room
View of boat house and lake in the meadow area.
Front view of cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunny filey”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great week in Filey and the house was a perfect base.

So close to amenities and the beach is lovely.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Many thanks for the kind review, much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita3466
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Christmas break.”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We have been to The Bay a few times and once again have no reason for complaint. We stayed 4 nights at the cottage over Christmas. The cottage was thoughtfully decorated and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook our Christmas dinner.
Thank you for the lovely welcome pack which was a nice touch.
We would have no hesitation booking this cottage again. Zoe was prompt to all of our requests and dealt quickly with a small problem we had.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location to the beach. Layout and space which is standard at The Bay.
Liked least: The wet weather!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2015
Many thanks for your help with the light bulbs and for being excellent guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicola l
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fabulous week at Roobarbs retreat. The cottage was beautiful and equipped with everything we needed and more. It was spotless and perfectly positioned. The weather was exceptionally kind to us, so we went on many walks (Bempton Cliffs, Flamborough, Scarborough, Ravenscar and Bogle Hole We often had the beach to ourself and our 2 dogs enjoyed their holiday immensely.
Our children and grandchild came for the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed all the facilities at The Bay (including the Pub, pool, steam room, sauna etc).
I cannot recommend this cottage enough....We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: The is nothing we did not like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for such a positive review. As I haven't had one on line for a while (although there are plenty in the visitors' book), it will hopefully encourage others to book and subsequently enjoy the cottage like your family did.
Kind regards and thanks again
Zoe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadgersSh...
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful home from home - so relaxing and very special”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have just returned from Roobarb's Retreat - it is a beautiful well equipped house in a lovely situation. There are lovely walks on the beach and in the Meadows (our two dogs were in 7th heaven) Our 15 month grandson loved his lovely bedroom and going to the beach with his new bucket and spade. We had an excellent meal at The John Paul Jones (grown ups, baby and dogs made very welcome) and before we came home had a hearty breakfast at the Italian Cafe - again all made very welcome. Even the weather didn't disappoint - we had breakfast and lunch outside in the garden. So everything just perfect (including the treats on arrival - thank you Zoe)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2015
Many thanks for the lovely review and for being perfect guests. I look forward to welcoming you all back very soon. Zoe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday home in a fantastic location!”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After having a baby 8 months ago we wanted somewhere to go in England for our 1st Family holiday. After finding some great places on the internet we were disappointed to find most we wanted didn't take dogs! Then we stumbled across Roobarbs Retreat, what a find!! We couldn't have asked for more, not only is Filey a great location you also have Scarborough and Bridlington within a 30 minute drive. The cottage is also situated in a wonderful little village of holiday homes with its own pub, pool and Italian restaurant/cafe! Roobarbs retreat really is a home from home, as soon as you step in you don't want to leave. We couldn't fault anything the cottage had everything we needed and more. We loved it that much that once we got home we were already planning when we can go back!! Thank you for a brilliant holiday!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern and cosy feel, feels like a home!
Liked least: Bedroom sizes were slightly small when you have 2 travel cots but it was no problem.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2014
Many thanks for your kind review and lovely comments in the visitors' book. Your family left the cottage in a very tidy state too. I very much look forward to welcoming you again to Roobarb's Retreat in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$129
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing