We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Plenty of space and home comforts”

Review of Moughton Cottage

Moughton Cottage - a beautiful, bright cottage with many original features and all modern comforts
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moughton Cottage - a beautiful, bright cottage with many original features and all modern comforts
spacious lounge with cosy log burner and comfy sofas to sink into after a long walk dining kitchen with views of the village green and the hills beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Moughton Cottage - a beautiful, bright cottage with many original features and all modern comforts
spacious lounge with cosy log burner and comfy sofas to sink into after a long walk
dining kitchen with views of the village green and the hills beyond
dishwasher, microwave and more than enough quality tableware
ensuite bedroom - twin or kingsize - with amazing views of Moughton Fell
light, spacious bedrooms and comfortable beds
the single bedroom with crisp white linen offering a deep sleep in the peace of the cottage
ensuite bathroom with shower
king sized bed with views of the village green
house bathroom with bath and shower
enjoy dining al fresco in the sunny walled garden
south facing back garden with a space for the car
view of The Green from Moughton's bedroom window
view of Austwick village from Oxenber.  One of the many walks from the doorstep of the cottage.
Beautiful Austwick Beck running through the village.  Ideal for fishing net activity!
entering the village approaching the humpback bridge over Austwick Beck
the road into Austwick offering tantalizing views of the incredible scenery you are now in
Moughton Scar is the view from the cottage.  A tempting walk on a clear day.
Austwick's children's playground in idyllic limestone landscape
Pen-y-ghent from the top of Moughton.  One of The Three Peaks.
the limestone pavements of Moughton formed during the last ice age by glaciers.  Clints and grikes -
Austwick Beck as it runs through Crummackdale high above Austwick
early morning view of Austwick from a five bar gate in the nearby hamlet of Wharfe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Austwick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Finst4r
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Plenty of space and home comforts”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

It's hard to imagine a more comfortable place to stay. A spacious but warm and cosy cottage that's more than enough for a couple and ideal for a small group or family. The pretty garden and big utility room extend the living space, and I was happy to spend as much time in the kitchen with comfortable dining space as I was in the lounge. And because I was beset by a chest infection and house-bound for much of my stay in the Dales, i was very grateful for that comfort and good indoor space, and the efficient central heating, while my aether made use of the good walking direct from the door. The cottage was also really well equipped, the wifi and iPod dock being particularly welcome. We definitely hope to be back sometime soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire...
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed 31 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A delightful well-positioned cottage in charming village with useful local shop and excellent gastro pub. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Very peaceful garden, all modern amenities, but with plenty of character. Could not fault it. Lovely owner who even returned lost property. Lots of little touches and even a pint of milk in the fridge. Excellent road connections. Highly recommended! Very relaxing.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard F
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect base to explore the Dales”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I took four teenagers to walk the 3 peaks over 2 days. Moughton Cottage was a fantastic base - a 20 minute drive to everything we needed and at the heart of a classic Dales village. The cottage was superb - everything we needed and thoughtfully presented. A magical part of Britain and a perfect base to see it from.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standish, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna F
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow- perfect retreat.”
Reviewed 13 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a few days with my family and cannot praise it highly enough. It is located on the village green a few steps from the local pub which serves a great variety of food. Every room is beautifully decorated. We had done some food shopping on the way but as always had forgotten a few things we later needed. No need to worry as the cottage was so well equipped. The beds are really comfortable with lovely thick duvets and the open fire was incredible (particularly since it was below freezing outside during our stay)! The owners were really organised in the run up to our stay and very helpful when we rang with a question about the heating. Nothing seemed too much trouble. There were some great walking books available in the cottage too that had a range of lengths and difficulty with maps. All in all we loved it here and cannot wait to return - we were all extremely sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open fire
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;