We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Par”
Review of Fortescue Arms

Fortescue Arms
Ranked #6 of 76 Restaurants in Sleaford
Price range: US$14 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Fortescue Arms, an attractive 16th century pub in the beautiful village of Billingborough, Lincolnshire on the edge of The Fens. We pride ourselves in serving the best ales and beer, an excellent selection of wines and spirits, and a fresh, home cooked pub menu that is sure to appeal to all tastes. So whether you are joining us for a drink at the bar, a family meal or perhaps just to sample our wide range of gins, then we are sure you will leave with a smile on your face.
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

Went for lunch. Decor is very dated, so dark in there. Server didn't seem to know what was or wasn't in/on the menu. Beer was ok. Lunch was dissapointing. Crips had been left open for a few days, steak sandwich was in a un toasted white slice of bread which soaked up all the steak juices which left me with out of date crisps and a soggy sandwich.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank A8398WS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve R, General Manager at Fortescue Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2021

I am sorry you were not happy with your visit . The bread for sandwiches is not toasted but can be if requested . Please contact the pub if you wish to discuss your visit and feel there something we can do to rectify

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

Went out with my family for Sunday lunch and we were not disappointed. We had roast beef and the roast pork. Absolutely delicious. Everyone was very happy with their food and a lovely place to visit. All the staff were very welcoming and polite. Well done to the fortescue Arms team for working well to welcome us, we will be coming back.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank MandyB1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2020 via mobile

Had 2 gammon's and fish and chips. Good portion size, loads of chips and excellent quality. Staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Will return

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank clairewZ4417TE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2020

Had fish and chips
Turned up 2 triangles of birds eye or even cheaper fish
What a rip off
Will not return

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 888neilj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2020 via mobile

Disappointed ...the food was very average we went for the dish of the day ...large fish and chips ...I have better from a packet of BIRDS EYE.
It was over cooked small and supplied with just 5 chips.
If they what my custom again they will need to improve the quality of food.
Living in the village and comparing it to the Robin Hood and Little John there is no comparison in food quality and price.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank gisomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fortescue Arms also viewed

Aslackby and Laughton, Lincolnshire
 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Fortescue Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.