We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful large house perfect for a large family...”

Review of Skendleby Hall

Arriving at Skendleby Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arriving at Skendleby Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Arriving at Skendleby Hall
Music room
Master ensuite
The Hall from the Garden
Victorian ensuite (disabled friendly)
Table football and air hockey
Full size billiards table
L shaped Main kitchen 2
Path through woodland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
14 Bedrooms, 15 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Horncastle, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kazbar031...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful large house perfect for a large family and friends get together”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I booked Skendleby Hall for a weekend to celebrate my 40th birthday with family and friends and the house was just perfect.

We had the master bedroom, it is the largest bedroom/suite I have ever stayed in. The bed was so comfortable and duvet and pillows perfect, with beautiful furnishings to compliment the age of the house. The dressing room and en suite bathroom was amazing, the bath was huge.

We catered for ourselves on Friday and Saturday and found the kitchen to be well stocked with pots, pans and utensils. For my birthday on the Sunday we used Jen of Skendleby Catering and I would highly recommend her, the food was plentiful and very tasty. Because the dinning room and table was so big and seated all the adults, it made my 40th birthday very special and one I will definitely remember.

The drawing room was an excellent large room for everyone to gather in the evening where we danced the night away. There is a great music system that you can plug your own Ipod into. The fireplace is amazing.

We had a wonder up to the local pub The Blacksmiths Arms on the Saturday night and watched the wonderful firework display they put on, the pub is like a tardis!

The children absolutely loved wondering round the house and was a brilliant place for them to play hide and seek. We did a treasure hunt around the house which kept the children amused for a long time. They all can't wait to go back!

Overall Skendleby Hall was a brilliant place, it definitely has the WOW factor and we would love to return. Thank you Ruth, Gillian and David.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and grandness
Liked least: Check out time
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossma...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend in an incredible property!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

16 of us stayed at Skendleby Hall this past weekend, and we had an absolutely fantastic few days.

The property is enormous with lots of character and all amenities you could possibly require. The Hall is set in private grounds overlooking some beautiful countryside, located in the small village of Skendleby. We were met by one of the owners upon arrival and given the tour of the property. I think all the bedrooms bar one had an ensuite and all were ranging from decent sized to enormous!

We arranged some clay-pigeon shooting via the property's owners which took place nearby, and was brilliant fun. The rest of the weekend we relaxed and enjoyed the use of the house, watching TV, singing karaoke or playing snooker on the full-sized table.

The owners were great and easy to deal with and very helpful with recommendations for local knowledge. It's genuinely a fantastic place to come and I would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone, whether a family or a large group.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusiG67
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for a 40th Birthday Weekend!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Skendlby Hall is set in beautiful grounds and is the perfect place for family and friends get together. However, the bedrooms in the servent's quarters at the back of the house do not compare with the rooms within the main part of the house. The room we stayed in had an odour with the curtains and bed throws in need of a good clean, especially around the edges of the carpet. If the cleanliness was improved Skendlby Hall would get 10 out of 10.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel R
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well appointed stately property, set in lovely grounds in the heart of the Lincolnshire Wolds”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Skendleby Hall is a truly lovely building, if anything the photographs don't do it justice. It is spacious and well laid out, allowing a large mixed group to mingle but also have their own space.

The main kitchen is particularly well appointed, with ample fridge and freezer space and quality crockery and glassware for all your needs.
Bedrooms are beautifully decorated individually and all well stocked with fluffy towels and hotel quality bedding.

During our stay for a friends 40th Birthday celebrations, we were fortunate enough to enjoy fabulous weather so were able to take advantage of the outside facilities. This did however highlight one of the disadvantages of staying at Skendleby Hall in that music and any loud noise is prohibited outside after 22:00hrs ~ a bit tricky for a large group enjoying the only bit of decent English weather we've had for years!

Skendleby village is picturesque with a traditional pub a mere 5 minutes stroll away, which serves meals.The coast is 30 minutes away and holds a certain charm if you are from around these parts ~ if you live on the South Coast and are used to the delights offered by your seaside resorts I would give it a miss!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The opportunity to stay in a lovely house in beautiful surroundings during an unheard of British heat wave
Liked least: A very small negative however our shower didn't work properly so had to keep gate crashing friends facilities!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_and_T_E...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing house for a large get together”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in February 2013

An excellent well furnished house for a great family get together. All the bedrooms are well furnished and spacious and it has the feel of a country house. The large sitting room easily accommodates a full house around a huge open fire. The 2 large kitchens and ample facilities make self catering easy. The house is always warm in the winter and in the 5 years that we have stayed there we have never encountered any problems. Ruth and all the staff are very friendly and helpful and to our family of 25 (age ranges 1 - 75) it now feels like a second home. The overall standard of the house and facilities is very high and I would certainly recommend it. We look forward to our 6th annual visit next February!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality and the space
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing