We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soggy batter”
Review of Fence Gate Inn

Fence Gate Inn
Ranked #27 of 199 Restaurants in Burnley
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Consistantly Good Food And Bar Snacks
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

We eat at the fence gate a lot and always
Great apart from the soggy batter on the fish
Can you please look at a new crispy batter

Thank neills123632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeley B, Director of Sales at Fence Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear neills123632 we are delighted to read your review. ive passed on your comments to the Head Chef to look into the batter. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Have been here over 10 - 12 time in the last four months, the food has always been amazing. However every single time we come we try to order the strawberry daiquiri and we are always told they don’t have strawberries. When deserts are ordered they always come with strawberries. Even if there aren’t enough to make the drink just take it off the menu or adjust your order of them. Totally pointless having it on there.

2  Thank Lauraashleysophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeley B, Director of Sales at Fence Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lauraashleysophie we are delighted to read your review. And from tomorrow we are launching a brand new cocktail menu. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Went for Sunday with the current wife and a couple of friends. I had the roast sirloin. EVERYTHING on the plate was cooked to a turn. Mash was buttery and light, roasts perfect, collie cheese in a pot creamy and cheesy. The beef was charged on the outside through to just cooked in the middle (not red) veggies perfect. But it was the gravy so smooth and rich. I kept eating after I was full, just for the gravy. They should offer bread for mopping up also great value. Well done guys keep it up

Thank GezandJune1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeley B, Director of Sales at Fence Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you GezandJune1 for such a lovely review. We hope you'll return to Fence Gate soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

Lovely venue and here most weeks. But “being invisible” when waiting to order happens too often and prices are a little high for a pub.

Soups can be excellent with unusual combinations. On a less positive note ordered a chicken tikka skewer at last visit and it was 1 skewer of (I suspect) chicken thigh.

Also been to event in function room which is a great room for a special event.

1  Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeley B, Director of Sales at Fence Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks sleep007 for your feedback, all very useful to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Just nipped in for a drink with a friend at lunchtime today.
Great service from Julie behind the Bar. Knew when to ask if we wanted a refill and remembered the drinks from the first round. Top marks! Thank you.

    • Service
Thank Lifeafterrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keeley B, Director of Sales at Fence Gate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks Lifeafterrobbie, what a lovely review for everyone to see. Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fence Gate Inn also viewed

 

Been to Fence Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing