We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
The Bakehouse Comfortable Sleeping Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
103 reviews
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
The Bakehouse
Comfortable Sleeping Area
Luxury Kingsize Bed
Everything you require
Relax on the leather sofas
Flat Screen TV
Kitchen & Dining Area
Suntrap Decking Area
Fantastic Sunsets on Whitstable Beach
Whitstable Fisherman Huts
Whitstable Castle
The Sea Forts
Sunset
Summer fun jumping from the groins
A lovely July evening
July sunset at East Quay
Sunset in August from East Quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 103 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
creaky1
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A really lovely cottage, very well kept, clean and cosy and a great place in which to base yourself for a weekend. The only trouble we had was with parking, but for such a busy town this is to be expected. While Virginia helpfully sent parking details etc we had to park some way out of town. Would recommend the Forge (outside) beach cafe for breakfast in a bun, a real winner in the sunny mornings, just along from the fish market.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A nice relaxing place to stay
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
So pleased you liked The Bakehouse and enjoyed your break, unfortunate you were unable to park in the places I suggested, you must have arrived at a particularly busy time. Hopefully we will welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, perfect weekend away”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Great for one or two nights away in Whitstable. The owner was really helpful at accommodating for our late arrival, organising for someone to come and meet us, and show us where to go. Very clean inside with modern kitchen and bathroom. It was situated behind a bar, which meant that there was some noise on the Saturday night; nothing too disturbing however. Great location for all other places in Whitstable, just a short 3-4 minute walk from all the main restaurants and shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and open-plan design
Liked least: Behind a bar
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. And hope to welcome you back. Naturally when staying in a Town close to all amenities, there will be some noise until the bars and restaurants close.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhiEv
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy hideaway by the seaside”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I spent 2 days here during November as I wanted some time away. The Bakehouse is cosy and warm, important for the winter evenings. It is tucked away behind the main street and I found it very quiet and relaxing. It's a short walk to the shops, restaurants, pubs and seafront. I would recommend this as a place to stay for solo travellers and couples looking wanting to spend a few days by the sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
Many thanks for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our property. Hopefully you will return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UptoSpain
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous retreat and superb base from which to explore”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It didn't really register that the property was not that shown in the 'Top' photograph in the advertisement until we arrived in pouring rain and began unloading what little luggage we had brought for a two night stay.
In the end it didn't matter! The property was spotlessly clean and had all the facilities we needed. Far enough from the hustle and bustle of the town and harbour but close enough to the bakery, a number of excellent breakfast joints and also within strike of the historical city of Canterbury, the Bakehouse was the perfect weekend retreat.
All Virginia's suggestions of restaurants and things to do were spot on, well those that we tried and did at any rate, and we are looking forward to returning to sample those delights that we weren't able to cram into a wonderful, if rather wet, two day break.
I imagine that a G&T on the decking in the evening spring sunshine would be simply wonderful. We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review which is appreciated. Pleased to hear that you like the Bakehouse and we hope to welcome you back when the weather will hopefully be more conducive for you to sit on the decking with a G&T! Something none of us can book....the weather!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanvileg...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just got back from a lovely stay at the bakehouse very clean and comfortable . Very cosy and close to all amenities . Owner Virginia very helpful . Great place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing