We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy and comfortable!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Ventings

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jez_Shore...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing - not like pictures and left early”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This was the worst holiday hire I have ever done. After paying £780 for 5 nights we expected it to be as advertised (looking like the pictures) and clean.

We were booked for 5 nights and ended up leaving after 2. It would have been after the first night but one of the train lines we needed was on strike.

The location was was great, picking up the keys very easy and the cottage was well located for the town and beaches which is the only positive thing I can say about this cottage.

We opened the front door and walked into the lounge area. At first glance the room was a little tired but as we walked further into the cottage we realised that the pictures on Trip Advisor were very misleading.

This was the most expensive rental we looked at for this period and we expected more.

The issues included:

The cottage was dirty, the kitchen had a dirty dishcloth left in a water filled sink and the fridge was stained with food. The bathroom floor had not been mopped and there were hairs in the bath and on the floor.

The whole place was tired, large patches with paint missing on the walls, the stair carpet was filthy and the white sofa stained. It actually felt uncomfortable to sit in the lounge.

The bedroom had not been hoovered or swept as in the main bedroom there was a huge ball of hair.

The garden was not usable, one picnic table was broken, the BBQ was dirty, rusty and full of old charcoal. The rest of the garden was too overgrown to enjoy.

The dining area had not been cleaned as there was a used glow stick just under the edge of the sideboard which would have been spotted if the floor had been thoroughly swept.

The front bedroom bed squeaked so loudly it could be hear both in the other room and downstairs and it was very uncomfortable. (The back bedroom was fine)

This could be a perfect and lovely cottage but it needs a serious amount of TLC and a far better cleaner.

I am about to ask the owner for a refund as there is no way that the cottage matches the online description.

Other guests commented about issues in the guest book - I just wish they had done it online so we didn’t book the cottage and have our holiday ruined. The only thing I hope is that by providing a detailed review - please look at the pictures, it may prevent someone else having a poor experience or that the owner will realise they need to sort out some issues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness and decor
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2015
Thank you for this review.

I take great care and pride in the cleanliness and presentation of The Ventings and want our guests to have a wonderful stay so I am very saddened and disappointed to receive your comments.

We try to clean the property as well as possible between each booking, although during the summer time is often tight between guests looking to check out late and the next guests hoping to check in early ? we try to accommodate everyone as best we can whilts still maintaining a high standard of cleanliness ? on this occasion it sounds as though things were missed ? and I am sorry to hear that - I do wish you had contacted me with your concerns on arrival as I would have arranged to address the issues immediately myself.

Any issues that are raised by guests to do with the equipment or maintenance of the cottage are dealt with as soon as possible, so it is unfortunate when no contact is made with regard to these issues either ? I?m sure that had I been given a chance to rectify things you could have go on to enjoy your stay ? despite the summer weather - instead of coming away feeling bitter about the experience.

A note to other guests: hopefully from other reviews and the fact that the cottage has a certificate of excellence for renting from trip advisor you will be able to see past this incident, many people have stayed since ? the cottage has been booked almost every week ? not everyone chooses to leave comments on trip advisor but I can happily send pictures of my visitors book with plenty of happy reports of good times enjoyed at The Ventings.

Also to let you know Squeaky bed fixed after much trial and error and stair carpet cleaned after this guests comments and is due to be changed with annual winter overhaul this year ? no further cleaning issues reported and many happy guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russelltr...
2 reviews
“Cosy and comfortable!”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed for a long weekend with my mum and sister. Perfect for shopping and getting to know the area. Bedrooms were so comfortable and the open fire made it extra cosy (take own fuel, you can buy locally). Great house and good value.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimi P
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Had a fantastic time staying at The Ventings whilst visiting Whitstable.

The property was comfortable, homely and well appointed! Will definitely stay here again and also happily recommend this property to others!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHHausman...
Bielefeld, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful place in Whitstable”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at the Ventings in April for a (unfortunately too short) family holiday in Kent.
What's to love about the cottage?
Nearly everything: located in spitting distance to the high street and the harbour, everything within easy walking distance. Wonderful interior renovations, a really stunning place with loads of design and personal touches. Loved it. Squeaky clean, too.
What's not to love: Parking can be a bit of a challenge, streets are narrow and rather crowded, but that (and the sometimes lively pub around the corner) is to be expected when you stay in the city center. Steep stairs (and I do mean steep) were great fun for our kids, but may not bee too much fun for those unsure of their footing.
An absolute plus were the people renting out the cottage: Matt and his friends were always very communicative, helpful and absolutely flexible to accomodate our whishes/needs. Perfect hosts, really!
If you want to visit London from here: 10 min walking to the train station and you can take a direct train (~90mins) to Victoria Station.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive68
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Myself and 3 friends stayed at The Ventings in Feb this year for a 4 nights and found it perfect in every way. The location is fantastic, with parking right outside which is a huge bonus. The property itself is big enough for everyone to feel they have their own space, yet cosy enough so that you don't feel disconnected from the other people in the house. The only problem is, with the house being so welcoming and homely, we struggled to drag ourselves away6 to discover all the amazing things there are to do on the doorstep. We have already booked up for our second stay this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing