We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Ventings

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Clive68
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Myself and 3 friends stayed at The Ventings in Feb this year for a 4 nights and found it perfect in every way. The location is fantastic, with parking right outside which is a huge bonus. The property itself is big enough for everyone to feel they have their own space, yet cosy enough so that you don't feel disconnected from the other people in the house. The only problem is, with the house being so welcoming and homely, we struggled to drag ourselves away6 to discover all the amazing things there are to do on the doorstep. We have already booked up for our second stay this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie G
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ideally located nicely furnished fishermans cottage close to all amenties”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This cottage is lovely. It was plenty big enough for myself and 3 girlfriends for the weekend. The beds were really comfy, the kitchen was well equipped and the house was decorated with a seaside/ fishermans theme, which made you feel you were by the sea. The cottage was ideally located for walking into whistable and down to the beach.

I would recommend it to anyone who want to see whistable at anytime of the year.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam F
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic base for our weekend away”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We really enjoyed staying - the house was lovely; bright and airy and with lovely comfy beds and well decorated. We also really enjoyed cooking in the excellent kitchen. The location was fantastic - right by the water and all the shops in town. Matt was very accommodating and helpful and we had a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1nderone
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for a long-awaited catch-up”
Reviewed 19 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

I recently stayed at The Ventings with five other old school friends for a long-awaited girly weekend, and we couldn't have picked a nicer place than The Ventings. The house was beautiful with a large kitchen with good amenities for cooking our christmas dinner! It was lovely to have the dining table too.

The bedrooms were all great, with extremely comfy beds - you notice the quiet, me coming from London! Only thing that one friend mentioned is that she was allergic to duck feathers, which I believe the pillows must have contained as she said she coughed quite a bit through the night.

Only very slight downside is the one bathroom for use of the sole toilet, sink and shower - which with six girls in the house there was quite a bit of queueing!

The house is very well located - 2 mins walk from the high street which is packed full of the most charming shops and some nice restaurants. We got fish and chips on the first night, and got all our food for breakfast and roast dinners from the Budgens which is about 5 mins walk away and well stocked. We had a lovely walk up to Whitstable Castle and along the harbour - which even in December was very pleasant!

There's a direct bus to to Canturbury on the high street too about 3 mins from the house, which we didn't choose to explore this time. However we could love to come and stay at The Ventings again perhaps in the summer so perhaps maybe then we'll get round to it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyB121...
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay - despite the weather”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Lovely cottage right in the centre of town. Short walk to all the amenities. Good food and drink with plenty of choice.
The cottage was nice and warm with comfy beds and seating. The only trouble was that my elderly Mum had to use a stool to reach the bed!
Would recommend and certainly visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedding/dishwasher
Liked least: price
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2013
Thanks for your great review, I am currently in my workshop making lovely rustic stools for the two princess and the pea style Victorian kingsize beds (to remedy any access issues). Always pleased to get feedback as it helps me to ensure that everyone enjoys their stay at The Ventings.
Matt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing