We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Hever Castle & Gardens
from US$302.68
More Info
from US$681.97
More Info
Reviews (3,539)
Filter reviews
3,539 results
Traveller rating
2,439
855
147
58
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,439
855
147
58
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anne boleyn astor family childhood home tudor history italian garden audio guide gardens are beautiful large lake yew maze adventure playground boating lake sunny day rowing boat formal gardens sandwiches lovely place cake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 3,539 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2021

Had the best sausage roll of my life from the canteen here. Well worth the money, can't wait to enjoy another one.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank W7446TVwilliamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2021 via mobile

Tried to book tickets as annual members (after paying the inflation busting price increase) only to find no availability.

Upon checking the day tickets availability (that non members pay for) for the same date, there are hundreds of tickets available. What is the point in having an annual ticket when Hever limit the amount available to annual members who in essence pay up front for the same service/access?

I appreciate they need funding and am happy to support but this is simply out of order. Save your money and invest in other worthy causes that treat annual members with courtesy.

Hever - Try being honest with your customers by explaining how you limit numbers and how you also exclude annual members from being able to book tickets behind 'day visitors' or simply lower the fee back down to take into account the limited availability you now offer.

The solution to this???? Well it looks like I’ll have to book lots of dates I may wish to visit and simply not turn up when it’s not convenient for me.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank MarkB11013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Hever Castle & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2021


Thank you for taking time to feedback on your experience of our booking system.

In order to better manage our ticketing for 2021 we are trialling some processes that have been adopted by other similar attractions.

We have split our booking page into two – one for those who need to purchase a ticket, and the other for those with existing tickets requiring an arrival time only, such as Annual Memberships. Ticket availability is based on the average numbers booked in previous years.

The February Half Term proved to be particularly popular for Annual Memberships, which was not anticipated, and the team on site rectified this as quickly as possible. Moving forwards, we will be monitoring demand more frequently and making adjustments as necessary so that annual members are not disadvantaged.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021 via mobile

Easy to book online. Sad because of Covid and the area moving into tier 3 inside castle tour was cancelled. We received an email and a prompt refund. The evening was still very enjoyable, lots of lights and plenty of places to buy food and drinks. The light displays were really fabulous. There were 1 way signs in place, but not enough at parts, as it was confusing and people walking the wrong way. The shop was open as well and 2 metre distancing marked out. The food was good, a little but expensive but tasty!

Date of experience: December 2020
1  Thank annie20061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2020

At this winter time of the year we're all seeking things to do during Tier 4 lockdown, so a late December visit to Hever seemed like a good idea. And it was! The cafes were open serving reasonably priced takeaway food such as pizzas, spicy sausage rolls, coffee and takeaway sandwiches. The nice thing is there are lots of benches and picnic tables where you can sit outside and eat the food. The gardens are very extensive. We had a muddy walk around the Lake which took about an hour and was very pleasant despite grey clouds and cold temperatures! Well done Hever for staying open during Covid Tier 4 restrictions. But it is expensive! We paid £14.00 per person just to go in the grounds and our RHS membership did not give us a discount because it was during the school holidays. The same is also true at weekends. In honesty, £14.00 to wander around gardens when there isn't much to see is rather steep! And if the Castle were open you would pay even more. Lower prices and the same environment would be appreciated

Date of experience: December 2020
5  Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2020 via mobile

Magical experience! Really well thought out and covid safe space. We had a wonderful evening doing the Christmas light trail. The staff are fantastic and friendly, helpful and approachable. Not everything is open but the communication around this has been very clear and prompt given the lack of notice of changing tier systems they have had to work to. Thank you to you all for proceeding to stay open safely and allowing us just one day of Christmas magic in whats been a rather challenging year for everyone . Merry Christmas to you all.

Date of experience: December 2020
2  Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews