We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved”
Review of Spyglass & Kettle

Spyglass & Kettle
Ranked #25 of 128 Restaurants in Gillingham
Cuisines: Pub, Grill
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 May 2018

A midweek lunch on quite a busy day used to spell disaster - not this time. The friendliest and most prompt service we have had for many years. The food came out tasty and hot with no problems. The ladies serving were so much nicer than even a couple of months ago, well done. We always used to avoid this venue but will definitely try it out again soon.

Thank PSlowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarag L, Manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Glad we made your visit enjoyable! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

I visited on 20th April 2018 with a friend, the pub/restaurant has a free parking. The staff were friendly and professional. The menu had a good choice of meals at a reasonable price too. Good for a family meals out as well groups. Worth a visit and location is in a good place too.

Thank joecool1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarag L, Manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you for the review, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We eat here regularly and the food and service are generally good so we booked a table for my mothers birthday meal. As there were quite a few of us and it was a busy Saturday evening we were expecting the service to be a little haphazard and the food a little hit and miss. It's an easy assumption to make simply based on the numbers and the timing but we were very wrong.

As there were 5 families, we all ordered separately but asked that all the meals come out at the same time, normally a recipe for disaster, especially when you have 18 starters and 18 mains on 5 orders at one table and we all want the food to come out at the same time. I can just imagine what the chef was saying...!

Despite our initial assumptions, the food all came out as requested, everyone had starters and mains, steaks were cooked as requested and it was all very good. What was surprising was that even though this was a busy Saturday night, the staff were excellent. Always attentive, efficient and very pleasant. There was a blonde member of staff who served our table for most the night and she really made our evening. No one had to wait for anything and she checked on us at regular intervals to ask if everything was ok or if anything was needed and when my brother in law thought his pint tasted a little different, she replaced it immediately with a smile. Really excellent service from the lady serving our table and from the rest of the team in the Spy.

It's difficult to make an evening for a party of 18 a good experience for absolutely everyone but they pulled it off. We all had a fantastic time and left feeling content, with smiles on our faces and eager to return the next time.

Huge thanks to Kerian, an exceptional talent in this busy family pub, and his wonderful team. They turned our evening into a very pleasant and enjoyable few hours. We will certainly be back!

Thanks Kerian & all the staff at the Spy!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie C, Assistant manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely response. We are glad you had a fantastic time. We are happy to help in the future! Kind regards, Team Spyglass. X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Just came back from dancing on ice. Popped in for a meal. Six of use. Great meals all nice and hot very tasty

Thank peter12345678901234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarag L, Manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We have had good experiences at this pub in the past but not today. We ordered all day breakfasts and diet cokes. The cokes were practically flat and we returned one of them to the bar where they didn't believe us and had to taste some of it first before they replaced it. When we ordered the food they said that there would be a delay of about 25 minutes. The food eventually turned up after 50 minutes and the sausages were so overdone they looked burnt and the rest of the food was not much better. We told a member of staff that the sausages were burnt and he disagreed saying that they weren't. They offered replacement sausages and free coffees but we weren't interested after the way we were treated over the complaint. We won't be going back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie C, Assistant Manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

I'm sorry you feel you had a bad experience when you visited recently. The reason the staff member tasted a sample of coke was to ascertain why it appeared flat, so they could rectify the situation correctly. We offered to replace your meals and sausages for you and tried our best to rectify the situation. I was pleased to see someone enjoyed the sausages and the plates returned practically empty. Again we are sorry you had a bad experience this one time. If you would like to come back in future, im sure it would be a different experience. Please contact me if you would like to talk further regarding your recent experience. Kind regards Team Spyglass.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spyglass & Kettle also viewed

Bredhurst, Kent
 

Been to Spyglass & Kettle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing