We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shepherd Neame Visitor Centre & Brewery Tour
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Faversham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a look behind the scenes at Shepherd Neame – Britain’s oldest brewer. You guide will take you through the heart of the brewery so you can see the traditional mash tuns; taste natural mineral water from the brewery’s well; try some malted barley; smell locally-grown Kentish hops; see bygone delivery vehicles and step into a recreated cooper’s workshop. Finally there’s a fascinating tutored tasting of Shepherd Neame’s Kentish ales and speciality lagers. Tours run most days - advance booking is strongly recommended and you should allow 2 hours for your visit
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Visited this brewery on the way to folkestone. Very interesting tour full of history. Very informative tutored tasting at the end of the session.

Thank Jet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo E, Manager at Shepherd Neame Visitor Centre & Brewery Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beer tasting"
in 102 reviews
"brewing process"
in 71 reviews
"different beers"
in 49 reviews
"working brewery"
in 16 reviews
"tutored tasting"
in 58 reviews
"ales and lagers"
in 13 reviews
"tasting session"
in 44 reviews
"beer making"
in 18 reviews
"sun inn"
in 31 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 32 reviews
"free pint"
in 13 reviews
"excellent guide"
in 14 reviews
"great beer"
in 26 reviews
"birthday present"
in 28 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 32 reviews
"two hours"
in 14 reviews
"great fun"
in 29 reviews
Filter

148 - 152 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2018

We bought this as a 50th Birthday present for a family member. Had been to a tour / eve meal previously which was very good so was really looking forward to a return visit. Unfortunately I have to say it was a very poor event. 10 random people on a table ,not a problem to us 4 but no attempt from event staff to encourage interaction. Show started, again no introduction to the eve. I was sitting with my back to the 3 performers and as my food had arrived it was impossible to see what was happening behind me. The 3 actors only stayed / performed to the central tables so outer tables were very left out. Very very long gaps in between sketches and again no idea as to what was occurring as no information from any staff / event team.
To top it all the 3 actors were not very funny , the audience did try to join in and be upbeat about the whole thing but unfortunately the 3 actors couldn’t maintain this momentum and everything soon went very flat again. Everyone on the table was saying the same thing and that it wasn’t what we all expected. The potential was there but didn’t even manage to reach 50% of it in our opinion. In fact it was so awful we left before the end , we really could endure no more.
Such a disappointment and in the end not a good 50 th Birthday present.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank JacBanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo E, Manager at Shepherd Neame Visitor Centre & Brewery Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Many thanks for your review, we are disappointed to hear your comments, we will take these on board & make improvements for the future. If you wish to discuss further please call the office. Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Excellent tour, very informative and amusing with it.
Well worth a visit even if you are not a beer lover.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank SearleUnited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo E, Manager at Shepherd Neame Visitor Centre & Brewery Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your tour. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Escorted tour of the brewery. Martin our guide was knowledgeable, engaging and happy to answer any questions thrown at him by our group of 9 middle aged cyclists. The tasting added to our knowledge exposing us to new beers. We followed this with a pint and even the fervent lager drinker was converted to 1698.

Thanks Shepherd Neame, and to Martin in particular.

Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo E, Manager at Shepherd Neame Visitor Centre & Brewery Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your tour. I will pass on your comments to Martin. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Faversham brewery is an excellent place to visit. It is welcoming, friendly and very interesting. It is full of history and Johnny the tour guide has a brilliant sense of humour and excellent knowledge. The history of Faversham Brewery is very interesting as is Faversham town itself
Mike & Lisa

Thank surfmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo E, Manager at Shepherd Neame Visitor Centre & Brewery Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you Mike & Lisa for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your tour. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shepherd Neame Visitor Centre & Brewery Tour also viewed

 

Been to Shepherd Neame Visitor Centre & Brewery Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing