We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews isle of wight main restaurant crab ramekin superior room small hotel new building delightful hotel course dinner short break bar meals four poster bed staff were excellent fish last weekend seaside hotel good nights sleep cooked food
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Stayed here for one night the room was very nice modern and a good size we were upgraded so not sure what our original room was like. All the staff were very friendly and the restaurant area and bar were all really good.

The breakfast was also very good would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank matthewpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Ok. We all know parking is a nightmare in Seaview particularly if Range Rover’s take up two parking spaces near the Old Fort, last Saturday evening, you know who you are. Consideration for others would be my wish for you and your family or parking lessons of course!!!
Ok, so back to the real reason for the review. Very busy in the bar however we were well looked after and had delightful G & T’s and local ale whilst doing our best ‘Strictly’ moves around the old dog lying on the floor at the next table.
Top class service as tab effortlessly followed us to the delightful sailing rig themed restaurant. Do look at the extraordinary photos of the diver and we actually meet a gentleman who knew her. Top quality food followed, grilled salmon and pigeon. Followed by my favourite, sea bream. Very attentive service without being over the top making for a good night out in Seaview.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Recommended from a visit 17 years ago! We were in big rooms in the new block, very comfortable and spacious. We found the dinners excellent, beautifully cooked and delicious. Best pork belly my partner had ever had, crisp, meaty and tender. Slightly old fashioned feel to the hotel but friendly staff.

Room Tip: New block rooms are big and well appointed.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bluebell30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Travelled across the island after a recommendation that the food was good. We couldn’t get a table in the actual restaurant but our recommendee has said the food in the bar area is just as good. So after being told at 7.30pm that they weren’t taking any more people in the actual restaurant we were found a table in the bar area. It’s not often that you get greens which are so inedible, they cannot be chewed but it happened here. The greens were served along with a cheap and nasty steak pie which had hard squares of meet rather than soft tender steak, so my wife’s evening meal was ruined. It was taken off the bill without qualms but I’d eaten my fish and chips and my wife hadn’t really eaten anything, so it wasted an evening of our holiday.

I’m hoping the management hold their hands up here and don’t get all defensive. We had no negative interactions, the issue was pointed out and we weren’t charged, so the poor review is because the quality and cooking of that meal was terrible.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Great place to eat
The goats cheese soufflé was fab
Also cod dish was delicious and such a good price happy to recommend to friends this restaurant
Dessert was delicious
I would definitely return and the chefs are doing a great job

Room Tip: Ryde is great
Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank davidnE5196KX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Seaview Hot... B, Public Relations Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Dear David

Thank you so much for your tasty review and for your recommendation. This year the Restaurant was awarded 2 AA Rosettes and we have held a Michelin Bib Gourmand for three years running. As you mention we try to keep dining out affordable and the average price of the three-course dinner in the Restaurant is £28.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards, Tracy and Team SVH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews