We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent penthouse”
other travellers have booked this property
Freshwater Bay from The Downs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Freshwater Bay from The Downs
The Promenade at Freshwater Bay 5 minutes walk from the apartment Looking down onto Freshwater Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Freshwater Bay from The Downs
The Promenade at Freshwater Bay 5 minutes walk from the apartment
Looking down onto Freshwater Bay
View from the dining table
Sitting Room.
Colwell Bay Beach, a few minutes drive from the apartment
View from the double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Sitting Room with French doors onto Balcony
The Yar Estuary, Yarmouth a few minutes drive from the apartment.
Colwell Bay just a short drive from the apartment
Part of Kitchen.
Sunset at Totland Bay in May.
Looking down at surfers on Compton Beach from the National Trust car park
Old Gaffers Festival Race off Yarmouth Pier
The Needles from Compton Bay
The walkway at Newtown Nature Reserve, an idyllic  place owned by the National Trust,.
Solent Views near Fort Victoria - walk along the promenade to Yarmouth
Another view of Freshwater Bay
Beachfront cafe at Steep Hill Cove near Ventnor
Looking towards Ventnor from Steephill
View of the Pier at Yarmouth
The cliifs and Tennyson Down
Pilot Cutter at Yarmouth
Our apartment is the one on the top right.
The Botanic Gardens at Ventnor
Winkle Street, Calbourne
Visit Appuldurcombe House owned by English Heritage
The Causeway, 5 minutes drive from the apartment or an easy 1/2 hour walk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Freshwater, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Philip H
Uckfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent penthouse ”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed here for four days and have to say the penthouse is fabulously clean with everything you could need for a perfect stay. It is ideally situated to visit all over the island. It has beautiful views of the bay, and the beach is a 5min walk away. There are lovely restaurants nearby but you could easily eat in the penthouse as it has all you need for self catering. The only thing I would say, is there is a very old and apparently expensive dresser in the lounge with cream leather sofa, as we have two small children aged 6 & 4 this was a little worrying, so a little chat with the kids was needed beforehand but this place was perfect and couldn't find fault and hopefully return sometime in the future......We loved our stay and this place helped make it wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay in our apartment. With regard to the cream leather settees we do state in our advertisement that there are 2 cream leather settees!!! yes we do have an antique (regency) sideboard. We hope to see you back again at some time in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akela1863...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I have stayed here before with my adult son and as before everything was excellent. The apartment was clean and well-stocked with cleaning materials. The wi-fi worked perfectly.
Pity about the weather which was very cold but not under anyone's control.............

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and the apartment appointments
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2015
Very glad you enjoyed your holiday - at least it did not rain as it did on the day you left!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duncanwis...
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best view of Freshwater Bay from penthouse perfection”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This apartment has one of the best coastal views in Britain and is absolutely immaculate. We could not have chosen a nicer place to stay. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were warm and everything worked well. It was also quiet, so just sitting on the sofa, in front of the French windows, reading a good book was a real pleasure. From the front door you have a wonderful choice of walks, ranging from a casual stroll to the Bay, to a blustery walk up onto Tennyson Down, with fantastic views across the Solent and Dorset beyond, truly memorable for all the right reasons

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments. Very glad you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akela1863...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I stayed here with my adult son and we found the accommodation excellent. Apartment was clean, spacious and attractive. All facilities were good, view was stunning from both the balcony and the main bedroom. Wi-fi worked perfectly which was important to us and we had a really enjoyable weekend break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and location
Liked least: the turning into the car park was a bit tight when traffic was parked outside
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
With regard to your comment that the turning into the car park was tight I have to say that no one else has ever commented on this. If there was a vehicle parked obscuring access then the vehicle would have been parked without authority since the land adjacent to the turning is owned by the flats and there is no parking allowed in that area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keithandc...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great apartment in a great location....”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We visited Freshwater in September as two couples. We found the apartment to be light and airy and spotlessly clean with high quality fixtures and fittings. It had absolutely everything that you need for a break in Freshwater. The area is nice and quiet with parking right outside the apartment and and just a short walk from Freshwater Bay. The beds were extremely comfortable, bathroom well appointed and I thought it was a very nice touch to leave tea, milk and biscuits which were very welcome on arrival. The views from the lounge, main bedroom and especially the balcony were an added bonus and as the weather was kind it was a delight to sit and relax and just chill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness of the apartment.
Liked least: Nothing I could have improved
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday and very much appreciate your lovely review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing