We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fabulous little bungalow.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunnyside

Breakfast outside with view to the Needles
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breakfast outside with view to the Needles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Breakfast outside with view to the Needles
Bedroom 2: double bed
View of the Needles through the picture window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Freshwater, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kerry B
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A fabulous little bungalow.”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The bungalow was exactly as shown on the site, very comfortable and well equipped. We arrived to find the bungalow warm, welcoming and spotless. Barbara was very welcoming and came over to see how we'd settled in and was very helpful. The beach was seconds from the front door, it could do with a bit of a tidy up after a choppy winter but really it didn't detract from this super little holiday home which would make an excellent base for families wanting to explore the island and particularly the more rugged Freshwater area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very well equipped.
Liked least: Not the fault of the owner, but the nearby beach could do with a clean up.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
We are so pleased that you enjoyed our bungalow and we would like to thank you for your very nice comments about our bungalow and its magnificent location overlooking the Solent and the landmark of The Needles. We agree that it is a perfect spot from where to explore the island and relax on the beach nearby. Roger and Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eocene_Al...
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable well equipped accommodation with stunning sea view.”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This really is an excellent place to stay. It has a fantastic south-facing sea view over Colwell Bay and The Needles. It is very well furnished and very well equipped. The nearby beach is less than five minutes walk. I have stayed here for several visits now of 2 to 3 weeks in Spring and Autumn. For me, it is an excellent base for my fossil-collecting and sea-fishing trips, but equally it is an excellent location for family holidays too. WiFi Internet access is continuously provided and is included in the rental price! A really comfortable residence; highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Paradisiac holiday home at an amazing site”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

It was our third stay in this best situated and cosy bungalow, and we loved it as much as we did before. We arrive and feel at home. The bungalow offers everything you need and wish and is designed by the exquisite taste of the owners. Situated directly at the seaside, only separated by a large meadow, a 3min way goes to the lovely beach.
We loved the fantastic sunsets and sunrises, the crashing of the waves, the marvelous view, amazing costal paths and varied golf courses.
Nice little restaurants are everywhere, one directly at the beach next to the bungalow.
We would like to come back and can recommend this holiday home to everybody who is looking for a convenient and relaxing place at the seaside.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissyWW
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing and relaxing stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had a wonderful weeks stay at Sunnyside bungalow, was very pleased to find the place looked exactly like it's pictures. The view is amazing... many a sunset watched. We don't drive, but find getting around island really easy. We got a rover ticket for the week which cost us £24 each, well worth the money. The bungalow is about a 15 min bus (no.7) drive from Yarmouth Harbour/Bus Station to Brambles Corner. You could go down Monks road to get to the bungalow, but we were advised by the local farmer to walk down past his farm... 5 walk. Bit awkward in places, but that view that greets you is amazing. You'll notice when you get to the bottom of the road that there is a small walk way to your right, don't go down it like we did, fine if you haven't got cases. Carry on past it and veer onto the grassy bank on the right and that's Linstone Chine... 186 Brambles is literally behind the bungalow nearest the cliff edge, can't miss it. The bungalow has everything you need for your stay, was very impressed. Loads of utensils, plates, cups, pots, pans, free WiFi made a refreshing change. A home from home. There is a large Morrisson in Newport, the no.7 takes you all the way there. Entrance door can be temperamental, but we worked out that a quick jiggle of the handle whilst holding it up, made the key easier to turn. All in all it was a fantastic holiday... Cowell Bay is a lovely beach, and just seeing the Needles every morning whilst having a cuppa was lovely. A visit to Alum Bay to see the Needles is a must, we got the slow boat ride to see it up close, was worth the money. Also if you climb high enough on the cliffs you can get amazing views of the needles too. You can get the no.7 bus the opposite side that takes you all the way there. Missing that view and that 2 min stroll to the beach already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up to that view of the Needles
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing