We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way.”
other travellers have booked this property
The top deck above the lawn and patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The top deck above the lawn and patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The top deck above the lawn and patio
The cottage is just a two minutes walk from the beach
The main entrance
Driving down the lane towards Carmel
The porch - great for muddy boots
Looking through the porch to the kitchen garden
Lounge with woodburning stove
Lounge with sofabed and woodburner.
Childrens room complete with octopus
Upstairs bathroom with shower
The main bedroom with vaulted ceiling
The downstairs double bedroom
After you explore check out the kitchen, installed in 2013
Downstairs shower-room
Follow the cliff path down to Monks Bay
Looking back at Carmel from the sea (white chimneys)
View over the garden
The beach below Carmel (2 minutes walk)
The main entrance from the private lane
and relax...
Carmel  is a detached cottage with its own large surrounding gardens
The cottage is extremely well equipped
The garden outside the lounge leading up to the top deck
The main bedroom and window looking west over the garden and along the coast
Local fishing harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bonchurch, Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PaulaPud
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Not sure what more I can add. It really was exactly what we were hoping for. It is quite difficult to find. You drive down a long narrow winding lane, down towards the sea, and there it is, ..this beautiful stone cottage, overlooking the beach.
The cottage is very well equiped and spotlessly clean, and the games cupboard was a huge hit with my little nephew! Each of the bedrooms are a really good size, and well equiped, and both bathrooms were lovely. Sadly we visited during the xmas storms, so the torrential rain, and high winds kept us away from the beach, and tucked up around the cosy woodburning stove for much of the time.
The only downside, is the lack of phone signal, but we were pleasantly surprised (relieved in the case of my brother in law!), to find that there was wifi. I would definitely make a point of returning here in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and facilities
Liked least: Rain! Lack of phone signal
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vish99
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“LOVE LOVE LOVED this house”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A few friends and I wanted a weekend break away from the city so we booked this lovely little cottage. It is exactly what we needed. It had beautiful views, the house was very clean and the bedrooms were a good side and very comfortable. You can tell the owners take pride in their properties. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone who's looking to get away to a nice quiet place.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A beautiful house with a stunning view”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had a lovely weekend staying at the beautiful Carmel. Wonderfully secluded down mossy lanes, the view out to sea as you round the corner to the cottage takes your breath away. And at night the stars remind you what the night sky is supposed to look like when you're not in London.

The historic charm of the house has been preserved by the owners (including the lovely low doorways and sloping floors), even while they've appointed it beautifully with everything you need for a seaside break in style: a luxury kitchen, gorgeous bathrooms with a cracker of a downstairs shower, brilliant beds, and for winter breaks a woodburner and big stack of logs. (Though such is the cosiness that we actually had to turn the central heating off so that we could have the fun of using the wood-burner!)

I'll certainly be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and sea views
Liked least: no mobile signal!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and woodburner!
Liked least: We had to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing