We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Medlar

The Medlar Kington
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Medlar Kington
The Medlar Farmhouse-style dining kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The Medlar Kington
The Medlar
Farmhouse-style dining kitchen
Farmhouse-style dining kitchen
Front parlour with logburner
The hall and stairs
17th Century wooden staircase
Twin bedded sitting room
Twin bedded sitting room
Vaulted roof in twin bedded sitting room
Cosy double bedroom
Cosy double bedroom
Bathroom with double washbasin
Courtyard garden
Duke Street kington
Duke Street Kington
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kington, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
publicans...
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect break”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in January with our dog and didn't want to go home!. Beautiful old house that has been brought back to life with care but with all the mod cons.
Conveniently situated just off the high street for everyday needs but so quiet you think you are in the country. The Medlar was made very warm and cosy for our stay and has a great log burner.
Plenty of take aways' nearby and local produce shops. Pubs in walking distance (The Olde Tavern is the best) Lots of walks nearby or a short car journey away.
The owners were very accommodating with extra requests and had thought of everything for an enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor D
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Instant Relaxation”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

The moment we entered the cottage we felt completely at home, Kay and Tim have got everything just right, the cottage is supplied with everything you could wish for. It is a 15th century building but so tastefully renovated that the centuries blend together to produce a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Although we did not eat out in Kington the Medlars is within easy walking distance of local amenities, and the town is well placed for exploring the surrounding area.
The Medlars is so good that it is one of those places that you want to keep to yourself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of furnishings and homeliness
Liked least: The double bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele L
wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A really beautiful historic property”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We loved staying at the Medlar. It is a very characterful cottage, dating back to the 15th century, with lots of room. It is very well equipped. The twin bedroom is enormous with a seating area. The upstairs bathroom is very stylish. The kitchen diner is really good. The cottage is very close to the centre of Kington which is a lovely old fashioned town - no chain stores here, but lots of local shops - butchers, bakers, antique shops, stationers, chemist and even a clog maker! It is like going back in time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The historic character and the wood burning stove
Liked least: The beams are very low so watch out or you will hit your head
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire R
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“True Tudor style!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed at The Medlar as my husband and elder daughter were taking part in the VSCC Welsh Trial, Presteigne. The cottage was absolutely fantastic and a great retreat for my younger daughter and I, to get out of the rain! All the facilities were clean, modern and considering the age of the property - circa 400 years - it was nice to have a cosy sitting room and large kitchen diner. There were plenty of games and DVD's to keep us entertained and the log burning stove was splendid in the evening. Although the TV does have freesat, for the life of me I couldn't work out how to get other programs and could only watch BBC1 - no doubt operator's fault. There is space for 1 car at the rear of the property, but we had a modern car, vintage car and trailer so the parking was very tight. However, we used the cattle market car park 100 yards down the road and the next door neighbour was highly accommodating, when it came to parking the trailer. Sadly, the weather wasn't suitable for us to enjoy the pretty courtyard. The owner was an absolute star with the booking arrangements and came up trumps when we decided, at very short notice, to book a third night - thank you so much. As a top tip, if you arrive in the dark you will definitely need a torch to walk to the back of the property. All in all the Medlar was marvellous and I shall certainly recommend this Tudor treat, to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Period features and quality of finish
Liked least: Double bed mattress could be replaced, dips so you go into the middle of the bed
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJGStokeO...
stoke on trent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay at the Medlar!.”
Reviewed 10 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

It's not often we go back somewhere twice but in the Medlar we have found a home from home. The cottage is everything you would imagine, quirky is an understatement. Kay the owner has thought of everything that you could possibly need to enjoy your holiday. A spotlessly clean cosy cottage, amazing log fire, amazing kitchen with range, the comfiest beds out and a lovely modern bathroom. There are lots of board games, dvds and books to keep you occupied not that we needed them with the facilities in the area. Did some amazing walks in the day and chilled at night in the Oxford Arms next door, where the food was off an excellent standard. Fred and Sadie are excellent hosts at the Oxford. Already looking forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole ambience of the cottage.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing