We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Watermill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$88
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Shendish Manor Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Two Brewers Hotel(Chipperfield)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
91
116
117
56
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
116
117
56
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdecking areaflour millbourne endsandwicheslovely settingafternoon teawedding venueplenty of parkinghemelannexcanal
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Not far from the centre of Hemel this is a peaceful location. Very close to the canal which provides good walking, running or cycling. Lots of excellent pubs in the local area. Staff friendly and helpfull.
Lots of birds on the river, Canada Geese, Swans, ducks and moorhens. They do some timesmake a bit of noise in there morning but I prefer that from traffic and trains.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside view room
Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keri123290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay S, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel Countryside location & courteous staff, We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Everything about this place was lacking in joy, from the unsmiling staff to the dark, smoke-stained rooms to the soggy breakfast buffet. A shame, because it's set among beautiful old buildings in a scenic country location.

Room Tip: Ask for a smoke-free room
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijay S, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Oh dear. I am not sure what to start with as all I can read is joyless stay. I am so sorry! Truly.

I shall of course investigate and check the state of your room thoroughly and shall now contact you directly through Trip's internal messaging service for more details like your room number.

Again, our apologies for not living upto our normal standards .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Had a great stay at this hotel it has lovely surroundings very beautiful, the beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was very good value. The staff were very polite and was very clean presentable and spacious. Thank you for your great service we shall be back!

Room Tip: Free parking and good WiFi service
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikemike24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T, Guest Relations Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon

Thank you for the review, and very much appreciate your kind words about our hotel.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Decided to book here last minute as I was visiting family, the staff were very friendly and polite managed to get a room in the back which was great as it was really quiet and peaceful. The whole expirence was very enjoyable and overall great value!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank racheljones1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T, Guest Relations Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for staying at The Watermill hotel, and for your lovely review. We are really happy that you had a great experience with us and enjoyed the peace and tranquillity here at The Watermill hotel.
We strive into making our guests feel welcome, and very much appreciate hearing that our staff were friendly.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Staff were great and food was amazing I would defiantly stay here again - The water next to us is very soothing and clean. The bedding was cute and furniture had a Victorian rustic feel to it. The hotel was very easy to find.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hassan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T, Guest Relations Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for staying at The Watermill hotel, and for your review. I shall pass on your wonderful compliments to our chefs. We are really happy that you had a great experience with us.
We strive into making our guests feel welcome, and comfortable.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews