We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Get away from it all”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Pottery

The Pottery
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pottery
The Pottery from the garden The Pottery front view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The Pottery
The Pottery from the garden
The Pottery front view
St Peter's Church next door
Cosy, bright sitting room
Sitting room
Spacious kitchen with rustic charm
Upstairs bedroom
Exposed stone work and beams
Hall way from the kitchen to the sitting room
Bathroom with bath and shower
View across the fields
Early morning view up the lane from the Pottery
snowy view from sitting room window
Looking out towards the Pottery from Church House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ewyas Harold, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colette19...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Get away from it all”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a lovely little cottage and has pretty much everything you might need. Bed is comfortable and though the bedroom is under the eaves it didn't get too hot during the heatwave as the owners thoughtfully provided a fan. The sitting room is very comfortable, with several sofas, and the shower has a good supply of hot water. There was also a little box of home-made brownies! The farm next door sells good ice-cream. On the other side is a lovely little Norman church - there are a lot of these in the area, as well as Abbey Dore, a Cistercian priory.

There is no wifi though and no phone signal either (in fact reception in the whole area is very erratic), which made me quite nervous as the cottage is very isolated and I was on my own - I realise this mightn't bother everyone! You can get a signal if you go up the hill but it cuts in and out. A signal booster might be a worthwhile investment.

Just to note also that the cottage isn't actually in Ewyas Harold, as listed and shown on the map. Again, this might not be important to everyone but I was looking for somewhere within walking distance of the village hall (which this had seemed to be from the map), because I was on a week's singing workshop and all our meals were taking place there - so I wasn't able to take advantage of the wine provided with dinner!

But a lovely area and property, and well worth a visit.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Pottery and thank you for your comments. Information regarding location, mobile reception and wifi can be found on the website.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony H
Belton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pottering from the Pottery”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Great little cottage. A very well converted property with everything one needs for a restful holiday in a lovely quiet location. The cottage is actually in Rowlestone next to the old church. We found it very comfortable with a great bed. The property is well placed for visiting Hay, Hereford, Abergavenny and Ross, all of which we did. The TV is a bit small and there is no DVD player but that didn't bother us at all. The owner was very helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quality of the property
Liked least: the proximity of metal spliceing on a roof beam above one side of the bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for all your helpful comments. Just wanted to add that the TV does actually have an integrated DVD player - sorry we didn't make that clearer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen K
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Absolute gem of a getaway destination”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This gorgeous little place was pretty much perfect and exactly what we wanted for a few nights away. 'The Pottery' is in the middle of nowhere but is fairly easy to find with Sat Nav.
I arrived mid morning and entered the pottery to a fabulous banana and lemon drizzle cake which I was totally not expecting.
It was clean, beautifully presented and with all mod cons. Whilst waiting for the boyfriend to arrive, I was set up my Ipod on the docking station and made myself a brew as the owners had supplied us with tea, coffee, sugar and milk.
Although the kitchen can be cold, it can be warmed through and the lounge faces the sun so is lovely and warm.
We had a great time and would definitely return if not only to sample the ice cream which is made nearby.
My one critique would be lack of wifi/phone signal because if, like us, we were meeting at this place, it was very difficult to maintain communication.
Fabulous stay and big thank you to Tracey.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing