We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful cottage in the forest”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ringwood, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Paul M
2 reviews
“Absolutely wonderful cottage in the forest”
Reviewed 23 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Absolutely wonderful, beautifully presented cottage. Owners were very friendly and informative. It is wonderfully sited, the heathland of the New Forest is literally at the end of the garden (with a New Forest pony standing outside the garden gate on the day we had a long local walk), but just off the A31 and the forest roads for the longer journeys. Would thoroughly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review of our cottage Paul, very much appreciated and we look forward to hopefully seeing you both again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed for a few days with our 3 month old baby and used the cottage as a base for walks in the New Forest and trips to the coast. The cottage is well located for easy access with good amenities. Very friendly hosts made us feel welcome. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Apologies for the delay in responding Georgina, but we would like to thank you very much for your kind review of our cottage when you stayed with us in November. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inquizito...
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Haven Close To The A31!”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I paid our first visit to Picket Hill Cottage and it certainly will not be the last. As regular travellers throughout the UK we have stayed in many holiday homes - but we cannot recall a better one! The communications from the owners (Fay and John) is first class and the telephone call the day before we were due to travel provided the details of how to find the cottage, which proved to be really useful. Using a sat-nav the only thing to remember as you leave the A31 is that the entrance to the cottage is about 20 yards on the left. Don't drive on down the lane which your sat-nav may tell you.

As soon as you drive in, you see the cottage on the right with parking spaces adjacent. The cottage is in the grounds of a very impressive house occupied by the cottage owners. After clocking the impressive house the next thing to note are the beautiful gardens. The owners will tell you that a walk across their lawns to the back gate takes you right into the New Forest .We were to discover ponies, cattle and many species of birds are to be found within close proximity on the many options for interesting walks. Within the house garden many a happy hour can be spent watching the fabulous variety of feathered friends who live here.

The cottage itself is beautifully furnished and very well equipped with everything you will need. The dining area, kitchen and lounge are all open plan. The kitchen has everything you will need to cook a full breakfast, lunch or dinner. If you are properly relaxing and mainly going to eat out there is more about recommended places later.

There is a dining table with 4 chairs, two nice comfy chairs and a 2 seater settee and a coffee table. A TV with Freeview, WiFi, DVD player, Radio and CD player. Patio doors to a lovely veranda with chairs and table overlooking the garden.

The bathhroom and bedroom are at either end of the cottage. As you enter the door there is a nice lobby then the bathroom on the left. A modern feel with an excellent shower and bath.

The bedroom has a very comfortable double bed with two quality wardrobes, chest of drawers and bedside cabinets. Alarm clock can be handy as sleeping is easy!

The owners are lovely. Helpful when needed but otherwise completely unobtrusive. Full of information about most places within the area. There is also a large dossier of information on places to visit, places to eat etc etc.

We only had 3 days in October but the weather was still pretty good and it was easy to visit attractions that were still in full swing. It was also good to be able to walk in the area without freezing or getting soaked. The Deer Sanctuary at Bolderwood is a great place to visit if you are a wildlife fan. Park in the car park and walk a couple of hundred metres to the viewing platform. You are unlikely to be lucky but just maybe you will strike lucky. If not walk on the path down through the forest. The Deer Sanctuary is on the right, again you might be lucky to see some life. If not, keep walking for a few hundred metres and bear right along the far edge of the fenced sanctuary. Follow the fence and keep looking! You should be fortunate to see some deer. We saw the whole herd with the stags in full rutting mode. Excellent. Keep walking up the slope and bear right and you should end up in the car park. Probably about 2 miles. I am an 'old git wit bad knees' but I managed with no problem. Exhilerating experience.

The village of Burley is only a few miles away but is a fascinating place to visit with some unusual shops featuring witches, music etc. Post Office here is useful.

The New Forest Wildlife Park at Ashurst is well worth a visit, especially if you like UK wildlife. Nice cafeteria ans shop here as well.

Meals in the Elmtree (about 2 miles) are good. If you want something simpler the Fish and Chip shop in Poulner (about 4 miles) is top notch. The large cod that I had was like a Great White Shark. Ringwood is a really nice town with some super shops. Also Sainsburys and Waitrose.

We tried to keep off the A31 as much as we could. It is a very fast road that I found a little intimidating and going out via the back lane was far more holiday-like!

I cannot over exaggerate the quality of this accommodation. First class. Well situated with every attraction in the area being within easy reach.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your extremely kind review. Your wonderful great in depth description of our property, the surrounding area and amenities feels very satisfying to know that what we hope for our guests is actually being experienced.
Many grateful thanks for taking the time to write your comments it is very much appreciated and we do hope we will see you both again soon.
Kindest regards
Fay and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulkoruby
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy Home From Home”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Just had a very relaxing break at Picket Hill Cottage, Everything we needed in this well equipped and very clean and well maintained property. The direct access to the forest from the back garden was perfect for walks long or short, and within easy reach of all the main towns an villages of the New Forest.
The secluded patio was a lovely sun trap to enjoy a glass of wine or an early breakfast.
Overall the cottage was very comfortable and cosy and we will definitely return.
Many thanks to Fay and John.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Picket Hill Cottage. Many thanks for your positive review and we will look forward to you visiting us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPAM1_13
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of our favourite holiday cottages!”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have just come back from our 4th stay at this cottage, and we are never disappointed. It is In the perfect location to explore the New Forest and even has access from the beautiful back garden.
Always spotlessly clean and warm and cosy, it has everything you could possibly need. The owners, Fay and John, are always very welcoming and helpful.

A little gem

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Router too far away for wifi to work with tablets
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again this year. Thank you for your kind comments which were much appreciated, and we look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing