We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The lovely owners go the extra mile to make their...”
other travellers have booked this property
Rambler Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rambler Cottage
Stable Entrance Stable entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Rambler Cottage
Stable Entrance
Stable entrance
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bathroom
Welcome pack
The Drove
Rambler Cottage at the back
The cottage from the Stable
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Eastleigh, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Brummymum...
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The lovely owners go the extra mile to make their visitors welcome”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a short stay at the Stable, which we chose initially purely on its location as we were visiting friends nearby. The cottage is very bright and clean, is in a delightful setting and has everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay.
The owners, Hilary and Mike, made us feel very welcome and the pack (tea, coffee, cereals, fresh bread etc.) was an added bonus!
We would definitely recommend the Stable at Rambler Cottage, and hope to be back ourselves in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome
Liked least: That we don't live closer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mochashos...
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bijou Beauty”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We came here for Valentine's Weekend to get away from it all. The night before we heard from Hilary that there was a power cut, so we were afraid that we might be spending our evenings sitting in the dark. Not a bit of it! We were generously provided with a gas heater and candles galore.

The accommodation is in a converted stable at the rear or the thatched cottage you see in the photo, not the cottage itself. Nevertheless, it is very charming, with its own private seating area, a living/dining area, a bathroom, bedroom and well-equipped kitchen, all spotlessly clean. It was like being in our own private Wendy House - in the best possible way. Hilary provides a welcome package consisting of a beautiful home-made cake, and an enviable loaf, plus there is butter and milk to be found in the fridge, and cereal and jam in the cupboards, not to mention fresh fruit. We felt truly welcome. There were numerous leaflets about local attractions, so it was easy to find things to do, and Mike and Hilary could not have been more helpful if we had any questions. Even the floods in the area could not dampen our spirits; we were so lucky to have found such a charming nook, and such attentive hosts.

In short, spotlessly clean and incredibly friendly; what more could you want from a romantic getaway just for two?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and the hosts
Liked least: Not being able to figure out how the heating worked (but I'm sure we could have asked)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The hotest week of the year!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 for a stay in July 2013

A lovely stay in a nice quite cottage.. Never known such hot weather for such a long time so did not get to do what we intended. . Lovely table and chairs outside but far too hot to use them. Lots of places to visit in the area, we will return id due course to visit the attractions we did not get to this time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendlenes of Hilary and Mike
Liked least: Nothing, just what we were looking for
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marysunsh...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Couldnt be any better”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

The Stable is a small and cosy cottage set in a lovely semi-rural area between the cities of Southampton and Winchester. Right from the very first moment you walk inside you realise that every single thing you need is there for you including a lovely sense peace. The Stable is spotlessly clean and the welcome pack is very welcome! The fresh homemade bread was wonderful. The bed was nice and comfortable and the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water.
The rooms to the Stable are are all well presented and as we had a stay in December we had some lovely little festive touches making our stay there extra special.

It is very peaceful around the Stable and we cant wait to go back for another stay in the warmer weather when we can enjoy the beautiful gardens there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radio2013
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Clean & Cosy”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

It was great to walk into a very CLEAN and cosy holiday let
Hillary & Mike were great hosts felt like you had known them forever
The goodies left in the kitchen were great loved the Lemon Drizzle cake also the fresh Beans & Tomato Mike gave us from his garden
We had terrific day trips we would set our GPS choose our route then choose a different one on the way home
From two very happy travellers from Sydney Australia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How clean it was
Liked least: loved everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing