We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!”

The Folly, Hungry Horse
Ranked #6 of 25 Quick Bites in Andover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: Indian, Mexican, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Folly is part of the Hungry Horse pub brand, with an outstanding reputation for great sports viewing, a great selections of drink, value food and regular entertainment. So whether you want to watch sports, enjoy a pint with mates, or you'll always be welcome - so pop down and tuck in! Whatever you're hungry for, come hungry.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After a few good experiences as a couple my partner and I booked a table for our family here after a long day out. There were 5 adults and 3 children. I called to book a table, all fine. Arrived at 6pm and were seated by a bit so chirpy waitress. When placing our order at the bar we were told the food wait would be 30-40 minutes. This should’ve been made clear when booking our table just an hour beforehand. However, we were all very hungry and it was getting late for the children so opted to stay. The first lot of food didn’t come out until 8pm, by which time I had a very unsettled baby and grumpy children. Not to mention a grumpy me by then! The food that was put in the table was awful! My dinner was stone cold, my mother’s steak was cold, my nephews dinner came out with missing items and parts of my in-laws food was also cold. My partners food didn’t arrive until another 10 minutes after the last dish was brought out. By this point I was absolutely fuming. I asked for the manager to which he did arrive quite quickly. I expressed my feelings and the appalling lack of service and food. I was offered another meal or something to take home but I had already waited too long and needed to get the children home. We were refunded a measly £10!!!!!! We won’t ever be returning after this experience - so disappointing and rubbish end to what had been a super day.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank KayG03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Owner at The Folly, Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately due to staff shortages due to isolation we have been experiencing difficulties with timings and overall service. Please contact us directly to discuss your last visit. The Folly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2021

Not been folly for a while but went today 13/08/21 with my parents my dad is really fussy but said food was amazing today which I agree food was amazing and the young girl serving food and drinks was very helpful it has changed so much since new people running it the assistant manger Kelly is doing amazing job my son can’t wait to go back also like that they have brought back selling the balloons and sweets would advise everyone to give it another try you won’t be disappointed

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chubbers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Folly, Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Fantastic review thank you! Really pleased to hear you are liking the changes & all the team looked after you do well. John & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2021

My partner and I come regularly to this pub, last night we celebrated my partners birthday, we had a wonderful time but just felt like something was missing. However we had a lovely lady serve us and made us feel very at home. It was so nice to finally chat to someone who cared about her customers and only wanted the best. I would like to say a special thank you to Kim Hills who made us feel very welcome. She is a super star, what an amazing lady, she was more then happy to speak to us, take time out of her evening to make us feel welcomed and really made our night. You can defiantly tell that she only wants the best for her customers and is happy to go out of her way. Massive thank you to Kim and the team for all what your doing. Very much appreciated

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 523kirstenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Folly, Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Hi Kirsten, thank you very much for taking the the time to rate and review us! It is very much appreciated by all of the team here and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks, John and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

Orderd 2x burgers both were raw in the middle, had to chase up our drinks order, service of food fast just not fully cooked, ordered on app but not able to modify order to taste i.e no mayonnaise

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Vintagehelen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Folly, Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Sorry to hear your visit wasn’t up to expectation and not our usual standard. Unfortunately you cannot modify on the app - this is the same for most - but if you had made a team member aware they would’ve happily told the kitchen for you. Team Folly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2021 via mobile

Went into the folly on the 4th of August and was just served by Andrew who was very welcoming and friendly and willing to supply baby Guinness which he was unsure how to make but enthusiastic to be shown how. A very refreshing level of service.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Jezdx667
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Folly, Hungry Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review - Andrew was really pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit yesterday! Thanks again, John & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Folly, Hungry Horse also viewed

 
Andover, Hampshire
 

Been to The Folly, Hungry Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.