We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday dinner 2021”
Review of SoPa Thai

SoPa Thai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$21
Description: SoPa Thai : Fresh Ingredients, Authentic Thai with a Twist. It is a new Thai Restaurant and Thai Food Market. It has recently changed ownership from 20th April 2018. The new owner is Nat SoPa who has a background in Hospitality Management from Melbourne Australia and has worked in the hotel and restaurant industry for a number of years. Her last job was a business management lecturer both in Thailand and the UK. SoPa Thai is a combination of a relaxing place to eat, a friendly atmosphere to shop for Thai fresh Produces and a good place to hangout for drinks. We have Fresh Produce from Thailand to our restaurant once a week. We use these fresh ingredients for both cooking and selling to the public. Come to try our food and experience Thailand in one place at SoPa Thai.
Restaurant details
Description: SoPa Thai : Fresh Ingredients, Authentic Thai with a Twist. It is a new Thai Restaurant and Thai Food Market. It has recently changed ownership from 20th April 2018. The new owner is Nat SoPa who has a background in Hospitality Management from Melbourne Australia and has worked in the hotel and restaurant industry for a number of years. Her last job was a business management lecturer both in Thailand and the UK. SoPa Thai is a combination of a relaxing place to eat, a friendly atmosphere to shop for Thai fresh Produces and a good place to hangout for drinks. We have Fresh Produce from Thailand to our restaurant once a week. We use these fresh ingredients for both cooking and selling to the public. Come to try our food and experience Thailand in one place at SoPa Thai.
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

This was a surprise dinner from my partner, not your normal Thai restaurant as this one is also a Thai supermarket.
That said it was so nice , the staff were so lovely and nothing was too much trouble.
They had a good menu with all the usual favourites red & green curry ect.
Very reasonably priced and if I’m in Southend again I will definitely come here again.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Keeth007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2021 via mobile

Had an amazing takeaway from SopaThai last night. Green curry chicken, Masaman lamb, red curry beef. I had number 2 spice level and we loved all of them. The curries at SopaThai taste just like we had in Thailand. We used the SopaThai app to order, really easy and quick.

Thanks Sopa and team looking forward to coming into the restaurant next weekend.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank cantona07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2021 via mobile

Best Thai in Southend area, and shop inside, plenty of food in takeaway cartons and always piping hot

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank tosspot1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2021 via mobile

Best Thai restaurant I have ever been to. Food fantastic. Staff superb. It’s quite simply the best takeaway in town

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank rrgbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2021 via mobile

The food from this place is really good. The curries, the starters, everything is great. The papaya salad, vegetable spring rolls and Thai green curry are especially good.

BUT 2 out of the 4 times we’ve ordered from them, the order has turned up unacceptably late to the point that it ruined the meal. The first time, after waiting 1.5 hours, we were told the driver had left 5 mins ago. 20mins later, still no food (we live 10mins away) and the restaurant had closed. They stopped answering the phone. My husband had to drive to the restaurant to find out what was going on.

Second time, same thing. We booked a 7pm delivery slot on their website at about 4pm. The food didn’t arrive til almost 9pm. Again we were lied to that it was on its way when it clearly wasn’t and then they stopped taking our calls.

So disappointing and has put us off from ever ordering from here again. The dishonesty is the most annoying thing. Avoid if you actually want your food to arrive on time.

Date of visit: March 2021
2  Thank CabbagePatchSquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SoPa Thai also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to SoPa Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.