We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven
Nearby Hotels
Chudleigh(Clacton-on-Sea)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabana Guest House(Clacton-on-Sea)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beeches(Clacton-on-Sea)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Kingscliff Hotel(Holland-on-Sea)
US$142
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Langtry Hotel(Clacton-on-Sea)
US$70
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Travelodge
View Deal
The Sandrock(Clacton-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveller rating
236
223
139
63
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
236
223
139
63
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmash and barrelpapa johnslive loungeprestige caravanspar shopoutdoor poolon siteferry boat innsea wall walkchinese takeawaypitch and putttouring areago kartsnight time entertainmenttake awaytouring wardennice holiday
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 725 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from a three night stay. We decided to upgrade to a deluxe caravan which was amazing. It was clean, well equipped and the beds were extremely comfortable. Due to the bad weather during our stay we welcomed the central heating!! The site was good and well maintained. The shop was reasonably priced as were the bar, the Mash and Barrel and the Chinese takeaway. The check in staff were amazing, polite, friendly and helpful as were all staff. The only slight recommendation would be slightly better signposting.

Will definitely be back for another visit very soon .

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Drew040874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Morning Drew040874

Thank you for your 5 stars review of The Orchards.

It was lovely to hear you was very happy with your upgraded caravan and that you found the caravan to be cleaned to our high standards. Our Accommodation Team will be most pleased with your comments.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the check in team, your feedback is very much apricated.

The Grounds team work extremely hard throughout the season to keep our Park well looked after.

You will be pleased to hear we have recently been looking at the signage on park to have this upgraded so on your next visit should see some improvements.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Orchards soon.

Kind Regards

Gemma

Holiday Experience Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here over the easter weekend with family. First of all so much trouble before we even arrived trying to get us the right caravan for which we had paid for! Had about 5 telephone conversations.
On arrival we got checked in quite quickly so started unpacking when the electric went out. Waited an hour for someone to come out to us, all sitting in the freezing cold as heating went too. Got that sorted then water across the whole park went! So the dinner is brought to cook I couldn’t! Headed over to the live lounge which was mobbed at 5.30 as found out mash and barrel not serving food because of water issue. Went to order a papa johns pizza at 7pm to be told they only had small ones left! Couldn’t believe there was no where to eat, the Chinese on site had flooded so was closed. Because of the bad weather everywhere was so busy on site. Had a nice day out in clacton on Saturday. Sunday we decided to treat ourselves to the mash and barrel but we’re told most stuff on the menu had sold out so only a couple of veggie dishes left and breaded mushrooms! No kids meals. So angry they just didn’t seem prepared for this particular weekend. Had to eat pizza again. These issues really spoilt our weekend. I’ve been to havens 6 times and this was by far the worst park. I don’t think we’ll be back to haven again unfortunately

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank eljay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello

Eljay77

Thank you for taking the time to review us at The Orchards.

I am sorry to hear there was some issues with trying to get you the right caravan, but glad to hear that once you did arrive to park, you were checked in nice and quickly.

For issues with Electric and Heating, we aim to be with you within the hour, and I am glad to hear we could sort this out within that time frame for you.

Unfortunately, the water going off was an external issue that we could neither predict or rectify ourselves, which we also found frustrating. As you can appreciate with no water across park, the facilities had a much larger demand than we could ever predict, resulting in lots of items becoming sold out.

Demand across park due to the weather was high all weekend and I am very sorry that you felt this spoilt your holiday.

I am confident that given the chance Haven would be able to provide you with an enjoyable holiday.

Kind Regards

Gemma

Holiday Experience Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

omg i go to loads of caravan parks what a dirty lot of rubbish paint work all need doing the carpet in arcade all ripped with black tape to cover the rips ...went for food the workers who worked in the restrant all were talking like a bunch of teenagers,,,all we could here while we were eating is them messing around ,,,,,its the begging of the year they could of cleaned it up toilets smelt like poo in the food complex ,,,need a refurb ,,,so we packed up all our gear went home ,,,,

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Dawn B

Thank you for your review of The Orchards.

I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay here with us, I will be raising your concerned with the relevant departments so this can be looked into.

Regarding the cleanliness issues within the toilets, I am confident had you have informed a member of the team, this would have been rectified straight away.

I do hope despite your current disappointment that will choose to holiday with Haven again.

Kind Regards

Gemma

Holiday Experience Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Excellent staff are polite and hard working to make the holiday fun and memorable.
Loads to do rain or shine, lovely pools, great entertainment, day and night, good take aways on site, Chinese, pizza, and a lovely locally pub serving home cooked food and take away until late real east end feel to pub serving roast on a Sunday.

Bikes to hire on site lovely beach walk and a foot ferry over to brightlingsea and Mersea for crabbing or award wining fish and chips.

Standard accomadation is way above standard in my opinion immaculate throughout modern, central heated ensuite superb and I believe you can upgrade.

Local ice cream man comes round on site and reasonably priced supermarket on site well stocked with fresh salads bread etc

The usual amusement arcade with lots of 2p machines for kids, lots or play parks scattered around site and a sandpit

Park ranger on site with educational nature sessions, even a learn to bike activity too many to list !

Local area includes a pier beach town centre

All in all reminds me of the type of holiday I had as a child and loved every minute, with young children, and the staff taking the time to know their names I feel secure in the knowledge that the children are safe independent entertained and learning at all times

We loved it so much we bought our own holiday home and am sure will enjoy for many years

Well done Haven, and your very dedicated team at the orchards

:-)

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Kel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Kel Y

Thank you for reviewing The Orchards Holiday Village.

I am pleased to hear you was happy with our Team here at The Orchards, they all work extremely hard all season.

We are very lucky to be situated in a lovely park of the country, with some beautiful views over the bay to Brightlingsea. The footferry is a very good way to explore the lovely areas.

I am pleased to hear it reminds you of the holidays, you had when you was a child and I also grew up enjoying caravan holidays.

I am sure we will see plenty of you now you have decided to buy a caravan on our park, I know you will make many great memories here with us.

Kind Regards

Gemma

Holiday Experience Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Stayed at The Orchards as part of the Sun caravan offer but we upgraded to one of their prestige caravans given the time of year as we wanted double glazing and heating. We arrived and there was a bit of a queue for check in but this went down quite quickly. Check in was quick even though we asked for a different caravan as the one we had was quite far away from the amenities and was also in the bit of the park that is separated off by the very shabby and depressing looking residential area - which makes it definitely a park of 2 halves! The lady spoke to a couple of colleagues and moved us without any fuss which was great and we were so pleased we did as we really wouldn't have wanted to stay in the caravan in our original position. The park is well signposted but we still managed to get a bit lost finding our caravan as it's a fairly big park. Caravan was in The Hollows which is at the end by the touring site so was quite peaceful and didn't feel too hemmed in. The Caravan looked very new and had everything we could have wanted - a big TV, fire, dishwasher, bedroom with en suite toilet and of course the heating (which was great but couldn't work out how to turn it down when it got too hot!). The smaller bedroom beds were quite small and seemed smaller than previous ones and the bed covers kept falling off because they were too big for the beds! At night we were disturbed by late night revellers coming back, there did seem to be a problem with people not being aware of their noise levels and shouting at the top of their voices - a bit more consideration would have been good. The swimming pool wasn't the biggest but certainly wasn't the smallest as well and was operating a session and wristband system but we went for the 9.30am session every day and got in. If you couldn't get in you could go an hour before the session and collect your wristband and come back. There were people complaining about this but not sure if there is another way this can fairly work. The pool doesn't really have any bells and whistles but everybody seemed to enjoy it and the lifeguards were very vigilant. You also book the activities at the swimming pool reception this could mean it would be chaotic at times as they only had one computer to book on and so on Saturday morning we had to wait about 20 minutes to book the activities and then most of those were sold out (partly our fault for not being organised and buying the activitiy bundle in advance). Perhaps there should be a dedicated activity booking desk or something to ease this. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful - the swimming pool stuff, the rangers, security etc we didn't encounter any rude staff members. We ate in both the Mash and Barrel and Papa John's and were pretty impressed by both - the Mash and Barrel had a decent menu but we did have to wait quite a long time for our food in a not very busy restaurant. We ordered Papa John's to eat in the entertainment area and this took about 20 minutes before it was ready but again not a huge issue. The entertainment area is large but still not big enough for the size of the park so on Friday and Saturday we had to search for seats and finally found some - the Sunday night it was easier. There was quite a bit of reserving tables going on and seats being reserved but not used. Also there was always discarded pizza boxes and crisps over the floor and quite a bit of rubbish left on the tables so sometimes it made it look unappealing. Security is tight so you need to carry your passes around I think this put some people off but I didn't mind to see them around - at least you knew they were there for any issues. The arcade was large much bigger than other parks we have been to and we didn't have any issues and the 9 year old was very happy with her 916 tickets at the end of the weekend! The shop is very well stocked - you could eat from here every lunch and dinner for the week if you wanted so don't panic if you have forgotten those essential items! The 9 year old did the Archery (she enjoyed and the instructor was very patient and made it fun) and the Pool Party (disappointing as it's just an inflatable obstacle course no music which she wanted and as she was on her own and you did the course in pairs it got quite boring for her) and the Survival Bracelet (she was very tired so didn't have the patience but the ranger was very good and helped and finished it off for her!). We had wanted to do the Segways but they didn't have any space. The entertainment staff did a great job and for once it wasn't the same thing every night which made a refreshing change. The location of the park is good - you are about 10/15 minutes drive from Clacton but you have a great sea wall walk on the park with views over the Estuary. The thing that lets this park down and can cloud your judgement is the very unslightly residential complex and Chinese Takeaway and the building advertising the pub. It splits the park in two - this is such a shame.I would recommend this park to people it had a 'Butlins' feel about it rather than a quaint caravan park so you always felt there was something to do. We would definitely go back - hopefully in the summer so we can enjoy the surroundings a bit more and the outdoor pool!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kcrookers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchards H, Manager at The Orchards Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello kcrookers

Thank you for taking the time to review The Orchards Holiday Village.

It was nice to hear that you experienced a fast and easy check in, and that you able to move to a caravan closer to the facilities.

The Hollows area is a lovely calming area which is still close enough to walk back to the complex area.

I am sorry you experienced some late-night noise, our Security team are available 24 hours a day, for any matter big or small. There number can be found on your key, our map and our welcome booklet that you are given when you check in.

It was nice to hear you were happy with the band system we put in over Easter on the Swimming Pool, we found this the fairest way to allow everyone to swim and the pool to be used to its maximum occupancy.

I have passed your feedback over to our Complex Manager regarding The Live Lounge.

I hope we will be able to welcome your back to The Orchards Holiday Village soon.

Kind Regards

Gemma

Holiday Experience Team Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews