We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
89
29
15
8
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
29
15
8
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspub with roomsrange of beersrustic chipspeppercorn sauceeclectic mixwhitebaitrooms are cleangenerous portionsbrilliant place to staywould definitely stay here againfor sunday lunchgreat characterboutique hotelbedroom windowcomfortable bedfull englishcooked perfectly
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed overnight - comfortable bed - and nice room - 8 sorts of teabag - bathrobes - no water glass ?
Didn’t have breakfast as gave up waiting - 30 min wait after order for a ‘full english’ despite having asked what time I wanted breakfast at check in - decent coffee -
Overall poor value for money

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Hort_and_Culture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Good locatio at a Reasonable price. Situated opposite battle abbey. Staff helpful. Parking a little tricky but evenually found a place nearby. Room was clean and functional. Easy check in and check out. Plenty to see in local area too if you are staying a feq days.

Room Tip: Plan a place to park if you are driving.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank MikeJAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Thank you for spending the time to leave such a great review, you were a pleasure to serve and we hope on your travels in the future we see you again.
Kind Regards
Sharon Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

24 of us had lunch at the abbey hotel. We had to pre-order but the food was good, if a little pricey and generally the hotel coped well with our numbers considering it was very busy. Jugs of water on the tables was a nice touch and the food was presented nicely.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We were visiting Battle Abbey and decided to pop across the road for lunch. Nice garden out the back so we decided to sit out there with the kids. The children's menu kept them happy and the ploughmans lunch was amazing. Service was a little haphazard but all the little problems were fixed. Would definitely consider going back for lunch again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank alastair l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Thank you for leaving such a nice review, i agree the ploughman's lunch is amazing! staff training is ongoing in our industry but we do endeavor to give great customer service. thank you for your custom and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Sharon Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

From start to end! The Abby and staff are revolting, I have never had such a bad experience! The food was terrible and the staff rude and ignorant (the managements daughter of all people). Shall never return

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank stevo1983666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon T, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Very sorry you did not enjoy your visit to our hotel as our objective is to give you a wonderful time. On this occasion we did not meet your expectations and are very sorry for this. We would not intentional try to give you bad serve or be rude. We endeavor to always serve great food with exceptional service but do on occasion make mistakes.
I hope that in the future you will try us again so as we can change your opinion of our great venue.
Kind Regards
Sharon Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews