We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
313
101
21
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
101
21
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sleigh bed garden suite carr taylor vineyard local produce watching the rabbits koi pond four poster lounge menu poster room vineyard tour small hotel cooked breakfast country house fine dining lovely garden hotel breakfast comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Stayed for two nights to celebrate my birthday. The room was compact but perfectly adequate for us. Wonderful breakfast including fresh fruit. I had cereal and lovely brown toast and was really pleased that it was "proper bread" and not sliced packet stuff. My partner really enjoyed his full English breakfast.
Lovely evening meal on my birthday. All the staff we met were friendly and very welcoming.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DebbieT738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClavertonHouseHotel, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation to others. We are delighted that you had a perfect stay and we hope to see you again. Kind regards Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Had the compact double room which was absolutely fine. Staff are polite and welcoming and nothing too much trouble.
Booked direct and got a cheaper price than going through Trivago etc.
Very relaxing and Breakfast lovely.
Would definitely recommend.
Steve & Nicky

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClavertonHouseHotel, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendation to others. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Kind regards Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

We didn't fancy the rather overrated Curlew and there is a dearth of good eating establishments in the Robertsbridge area so my partner took to the trusted TripAdvisor for a helping hand. She found some rave reviews for the Claverton Country House Hotel and so we tried it.

Wow! What a gem. Why on earth have we not heard more about this place? How can you make a place this good without anyone finding out about it?

From start to finish it was an impeccable evening with excellent, welcoming service to a fabulous meal in exquisite surroundings. The best meal we have had all year and it puts to shame some of the more fancy and better known places in Tunbridge Wells.

Well done guys, you deserve to be fully booked every Friday and Saturday and we will most certainly be back very soon! You need to raise your marketing skills because you have something very special there and not enough people know about you.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alastair J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClavertonHouseHotel, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thank you for your fabulous review and for sharing your experience with others. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal with us and I have passed your positive comments to the staff. We hope to see you return soon. Kind regards Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

we stayed a couple of nights, it's a quiet little country house well decorated and you are pretty much left to yourself. Stairs to the attic room ran up the side of our room which could be noisy at times but only very infrequently, otherwise the room was quiet, though noise from the hall was also noticeable, but again infrequent.
Lovely views across the grounds from our room, the decked area could do with refurbishment.
One bathroom light would go on and off randomly, sometimes it would work and sometimes not, it's not the only light in the bathroom though. Also there wasn't much provision for storage of your own toiletries etc. this should be better accommodated.
Breakfast tea was served in chipped crockery, not expected at the price we paid for the stay, a good breakfast though.
The turning into Blueman Lane comes upon you very suddenly and we missed the turning first time, other guests also apparently had the same experience, so we'd advise slowing to a near crawl after you pass the golf club on the right, but it's an easy first right turn into the property car parking once you've entered Blueman.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spearman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

So glad that we booked this place! Very clean and comfortable, although our economy room was a wee bit small. With only two of us, we made it work. We chose to stay in for one of their weekend dinner offerings, and were glad we did. Excellent food! Breakfast the next morning was great as well. Definitely will need a car to get to this rural home and to get to another place to eat if not a weekend evening.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClavertonHouseHotel, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you are glad you stayed with us and that you enjoyed the food. We hope to see you again on another occasion. Kind regards Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews