We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour”
Review of Adnams

Adnams
Ranked #4 of 27 things to do in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: For those of you who have yet to visit our distillery in Southwold, you are in for a treat! Tour tickets are only £20 per person (over 18s only) which includes a tutored tasting and a little something to take home. The distillery contains all the equipment needed to create a "grain to glass" product taking local barley, wheat and oats. The tour demonstrates the highly precise intricacies of micro distilling and small batch process, as well as the creativity too. You'll be able to taste the house recipes, which we've carefully crafted from a lot of practice from the team. The tour takes approximately 1 hour and is followed by a tutored tasting which takes around 30 minutes. Don't forget to ask about our 'Make your own gin' experiences!
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Went here for a tour of the brewery. Everything about it was great. The price for starters is a bargain. Nikki, our guide throughout was brilliant. She showed so much passion and had so much pride in her work, which made the whole thing really enjoyable.
You get to taste beers at the end, can pick a free bottle of beer from one of the shops to take home and get a 10% off voucher, which saved us plenty of money to buy even more beer. I highly recommend

Thank DavidH12350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie F, Tour Manager at Adnams, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our tour. I am glad you had fun. I will pass your kind comments on to Nicki. We hope to see you again in the future. Enjoy your beers. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"distillery tour"
in 33 reviews
"great tour"
in 10 reviews
"gin distillery"
in 3 reviews
"great tasting"
in 3 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 3 reviews
"tasting session"
in 5 reviews
"discount voucher"
in 3 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 4 reviews
"birthday treat"
in 2 reviews
"gin making"
in 3 reviews
"visiting southwold"
in 3 reviews
"beer tasting"
in 2 reviews
"great fun"
in 3 reviews
"mandy"
in 7 reviews
"spirits"
in 12 reviews
"tours"
in 9 reviews
"company"
in 9 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2018

Great shop, excellent range of beers (obviously) but also very special range of wines and gins! Not to mention lovely gifts. The coffee shop offering a variously hot and cold drinks and food is really good too. Not just basic food but some good unusual choices too. Bonus it is dog friendly and owners are made to feel very welcome.

Thank EveWitham_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

My wife and I booked the tour of the brewery during a visit to the town. Both of us like a beer and after this very informative and interesting trip we now know a bit more of what goes into getting a beer in front of you. Zoe our guide was enthusiastic, knowledge and very entertaining. She answered any questions asked of her and obviously was very happy doing what she was doing. The beer tasting at the end was very pleasant and we were surprised at the variety of beers we were offered to sample. If your in the town give it a go. You will I’m sure enjoy it.
It’s well worth the £20 if you take into consideration the beers you can drink at the end and the bottle of beer you get each included in the ticket.

Thank Trotty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie F, Tour Manager at Adnams, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you for reviewing our brewery tour. I am glad you enjoyed the visit. I will pass on your comments to Zoe. Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

After having visited the Guinness Brewery in Dublin recently my expectations were particularly low (that was more like something you’d find in a theme park in Florida), however the Adnams tour turned out to be one of the best I’ve ever attended.

What an honour it was to have a guide like Ross who not only had a intricate knowledge of the technical process - and could could tell us everything about the history of brewing - but who also knew loads about modern trends in tastes and the marketing of beer. You could tell that he really had a passion about the company and its products.

It may not all be glamorous, in addition to the shiny front of house areas, you get to see the ‘behind the scenes’ back room processes taking place; but the company appears to be very honest and ultimately lets their products speak for themselves - at the end you get to taste some really great beers!

Thank leedivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie F, Tour Manager at Adnams, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review of our brewery tour. I have passed your kind comments on to Ross. We love to hear what people think and you have given a really good sense of what we offer here at Adnams. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Southwold soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

What a fantastic tour of the old brewery, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the tour was informative of the brewing history of Adnams and Southwold and hoe it has modernised to keep up with the times and increase production, while remaining in Southwold and not creating an adverse impact on the town.
Be prepared for a great beer tasting at the end of the tour, remember not to drink too much if you are driving.
All in all a great experience

1  Thank andyh1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adnams also viewed

 

Been to Adnams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing