We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (870)
Filter reviews
870 results
Traveller rating
365
304
135
47
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
365
304
135
47
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub fish and chips scotch egg dog owners marsh view beer garden suffolk coast pork belly great lunch dunwich heath stable block family room dog friendly pub open fire pudding main building shingle beach
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 870 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Great location, practically on the beach and beautiful walks for dogs. Room was cosy with a dog, could do with a lot less furniture in the room to make more space, as a whole good. Staff friendly but service slow, queueing for a very long time to get a drink, however food was lovely and would visit again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Danielle180818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely old pub with a great location. Visited last time at the end of the Dun Run bike ride and the staff were amazing ,opening up around 3am to serve a herd of sweaty cyclists ,we were made to feel welcome and the craft beer was slipping down a treat all in all super place

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank leonsephton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

We stayed at The Ship for two nights during the very hot spell. We stayed in one of the outside rooms which was very adequate. Luckily there was a fan in the room and the room was comfortable, although I did feel as though the bathroom needed updating a little, serious lack of shelves and was starting to look a tad old. We ate in the restaurant both evenings as convenient after being out all day. The fish pie was not good, mounds of potato and hardly any fish, disappointing. Saying that the pork belly my husband had was very good. Service was a little slow, but it was very busy. Large garden, which was busy, we chose to eat in the conservatory which was pleasant but quite small. Lovely location, a short stroll from the beach; would definitely return.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Suejillw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely location, lovely food, hard working staff. A hidden gem in the middle of the woods, but very popular. I would recommend always booking. The staff are very busy but helpful, just seems to be lacking a lot of management despite being so busy.

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank janeeyre1847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

It all comes down to the value for money ratio and how one judges that. The Ship is in an enviable location and as such is well patronised by, I suspect, a well heeled passing trade.

We stayed as a family over two nights in one of the hottest summers on UK record with the beautiful Suffolk coast a short walk away. The room rates, whilst not eye watering, perhaps lead to unfair expectations. The rooms are comfortable leaning more towards the functional than the luxurious - a little more imagination could command and deserve a higher nightly rate.

As others have commented on here the service is patchy, At times excellent whilst at other times, especially in the dining room, staff seemed to disappear entirely for extended periods. This shouldn't happen especially when, at no time, was the hotel particularly rammed with trade.

So - would one return for another stay? I think the answer has to be yes if only for the location and the fact that average (to approaching good) is sometimes good enough. Tighten up on the service, vary the menu a little more, tidy up some of the fixtures and fittings, clean up the beer garden more regularly and all would add to a needed improvement.

Room Tip: Marsh View
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Huntershipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews