We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was so good we went back for more!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
North Walsham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Suze888
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It was so good we went back for more!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our first visit was sept 2012 and we had such a great time we returned this October! We were an adult group of 6. The standard of the accommodation is very high, lovely and clean with a great deal of thought into what you could need on holiday! Right down to plastic glasses for the wonderful hot-tub. The owners are very welcoming, extremely quick on confirming your booking and answering any questions. Worth buying the eggs. The owners put in a very nice welcome pack and flowers. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of accommodation and hot-tub
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
10 Oct 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments - it was nice to meet and great you all again - maybe see you next year,

Best wishes
Ken & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doreen s
lancaster
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had a an excellent holiday. myself and husband son and his wife and dog charley plus sister in law. It was lovely and clean very warm. we had plenty of room for us all. we did not use the hot tub not into that. It looked very inviting. The equipment in the cottage was good. having an extra television in master bedroom good idea. We had an excellent week ideal position for visiting and walking. we do suggest that you visit the seal and wild sanctuary down the road they do so much good work . Bev was very interesting with what she had to say. the owners of the barn were very helpful and very nice people all ways willing to help.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
5 Oct 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments.

Yours sincerely
Ken & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irm1066
rotherham
2 reviews
“WOW What Fantastic Accommodation”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed in the Kestrel Barn this holiday accommodation is the best we have ever stayed in you could not get better accomadation than this in norfolk so clean and is to a very high standard and luxurious. The whole family enjoyed the Hot Tub very relaxing after a long day out, The whole family did not want to come home after our visit here. A big thank you to Ken and Nicola for making our stay so nice.
We will definitely be returning!

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Many thanks for this great review - yes please come back we look forward to welcoming you all again soon.

Kind regards
Ken & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel B
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accomodation in peaceful location”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Our stay at Kestrel Barn was lovely. We got a bit lost on the way but that was more down to our rubbish sat nav than the directions provided!The barn itself is finished to a high standard and equipped with everything we needed for a family holiday including buckets and spades for the kids. The hottub was a welcome distraction for the kids at the end of every day and the garden was not overlooked at all. The peaceful location was perfect, the only noise being from our kids in the tub!! Barn was suitable for the grandparents too being all on one level, only one small step to bathroom. Excellant beach at Walcott with everything you need for a traditiional seaside trip (ice cream van, toilets and fish & chip shop), no amusements or rides..... Brilliant!! We had a fantastic holiday and Ken and Nicola could not have been more helpful....right down to the double yolk egg which delighted our 5 yr old daughter. Thank you. Would definately recommend.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Aug 2013
Hi all

What a terrific review - many thanks hope to see you again in the future.
Ken & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone G
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Regular monitoring by owners”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Kestrel cottage itself is clean, well decorated and has all the usual facilities. However as it is in close proximity to some (very unattractive) houses , the garden has a very low wall and the hot tub needs very regular monitoring ; it wasn't the get away from it all break that myself, husband and friends, with our young children, had hoped for. In fact, in the morning before getting dressed we felt we needed to keep the curtains closed.
Make sure you are shown where the lights are outside for the hot tub. We weren't and my husband tripped over in the dark. Although I don't think the owners like you to use the hot tub in the evening. If you feel comfortable with neighbours peering in during the day then you'll probably have a much more relaxed time than us.
Finally I'd advise taking your own dishwasher tablets and loo paper !!

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage is clean and has good facilities
Liked least: The view from the cottage of gasworks and run down houses
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
16 Apr 2013
We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take our guest’s health and safety very seriously; we do monitor the Hot Tubs daily. We are more than happy for our guest to use them in the evening – however for consideration to our other guest we do not allow their use after midnight. We also advise “the excessive use of alcohol and Hot Tubs do not mix”. We are sorry we had to charge your party for the damage done to the Tot Tub on you first evening with us. Perhaps it wasn't just the lack of light that caused your husband to trip?
Your private garden overlooked opens fields for many miles and the wall is over 6 feet high. The bedroom windows have the same aspect, so we struggle to see how you were overlooked! Also Peregrine Barn next door was unoccupied that weekend.
Finally we do supply new toilet rolls for each bathroom and some dishwasher tablets to get you started, as well as a welcome pack containing Tea, Coffee etc. After all we offer self-catering accommodation. We can only apologize again your weekend break was not what you expected.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.