We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in lovely town of Holt”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
154 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Holt, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 154 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Holly C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in lovely town of Holt”
Reviewed 14 May 2020 for a stay in March 2020
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful, quaint cottage is perfect for one or two visitors, and is situated right in the town centre of Holt. It is a short walk to the shops including pretty boutiques and cafes and restaurants, and is also right by Budgens supermarket. Close by are lovely unspoilt beaches, so beach and countryside walks aplenty around here! Parts of Norfolk feel like you’re stepping back in time. Due to the circumstances that unfolded while I was staying here, I spent my time indoors at the cottage, and it was so cosy and pretty. There are plenty of books, dvds, piano sheet music and a lovely piano to play, and I also loved cooking whilst here. Highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a Norfolk getaway, and I plan to return in future! Anne (the owner) was really friendly and helpful, and very quick to get back to my enquiries about booking.

Date of stay: March 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2020
Holly, thank you, it was a pleasure having you staying at the cottage, enjoying the piano and feeling at home so quickly. It is such a delightful place to stay. I am glad you had time to make music, cook and read - the library seems to be getting larger each year!! I look forward to welcoming you back at 8 Carpenters Cottages so you can visit those wonderful places in North Norfolk you mentioned. Many thanks Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russwoott...
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We have stayed several times and it never disappoints.”
Reviewed 9 March 2020 for a stay in February 2020
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at 8 Carpenter's several times, usually at colder times of the year, and it never disappoints. Although anything that you might need in a town, such as cafes, pubs, restaurants and a supermarket, are on your doorstep it is completely quiet and very comfortable and warm. Great to come back to after a 'bracing' Norfolk day (the bird reserve at Cley is barely 10 minutes drive away).
The cottage is a real home from home for us, very well equipped and obviously caringly maintained by the owner.

Date of stay: February 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2020
Russ thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely 5* review about the cottage and your stay. It is always such a pleasure to have guests returning again and again and still loving the surroundings and the cottage. I look forward to welcoming you back again in May - thank you so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, comfortable one-bedroomed cottage”
Reviewed 18 February 2020 for a stay in February 2020
1
person found this review helpful

Very well equipped -even has a piano! -. Excellent heating, which was certainly needed in February. Right in the centre of Holt close to all shops, restaurants. A lovely stay

Date of stay: February 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2020
Susan, thank you very much for taking the time to leave a super review. I am pleased the cottage was comfortable for you and warm. I know it is so cosy even in February. I do hope you had time to play a few notes on the piano. Look forward to your return visit to the cottage soon.
Many thanks
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2020 for a stay in January 2020
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: January 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jan 2020
Brenda, thank you very much for taking the time to leave a great review. Glad that the weather was kind to you and you enjoyed Holt and its environs. Parking is at a premium in Holt so we are pleased there is parking at the cottage. As a Georgian town is delightful and certainly shows North Norfolk at its best. I do hope that you can stay again. many thanks. Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SueGorham
Ipswich, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cottage for two, perfect for a pair of pianists.”
Reviewed 5 January 2020 for a stay in December 2019
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is situated in Holt, just minutes form the shops, pubs and restaurants. It is hidden away from the main road, but within walking distance of all local amenities. It provided the perfect base for exploring the North Norfolk coast and also the local sights a little inland. The cottage is cosy and warm and has everything you need for a short break away. The inbuilt wine cooler is a nice touch, as was the welcoming bucks fizz and cake. The piano was in tune and perfect for two musicians to unwind and relax. The cottage was spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you need.

Date of stay: December 2019
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2020
Sue, thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at no.8. It is nice to know that all the little extras made your stay relaxing. Delighted you both enjoyed the piano - it has a lovely tone and always loves being played! My husband is a piano tuner so he will be pleased to know you appreciated the piano. I do hope that you can stay another time at the cottage to enjoy a little R & R and music. Many thanks, Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.