We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blo Norton Hall

The Rear gardens of Blo Norton Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Rear gardens of Blo Norton Hall
The drive up to Blo Norton Hall. The kitchen garden to the rear gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
The Rear gardens of Blo Norton Hall
The drive up to Blo Norton Hall.
The kitchen garden to the rear gardens
The side gardens of the Hall
The drive down to the Hall in the autumn
Kitchen with 2 of everything and breakfast room at the rear.
The breakfast room
The A Team working for you to make your stay special.
The main dining hall sitting 18
Main Sitting room with period features and comfy sofas
The quiet room
Bedroom 2 with shower en-suite
The master bedroom
The master bedroom - special occasion
Master bedroom Bathroom
Triple bedroom great for kids with very large full en-suite
The Blue room overlooking the rear gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Diss, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
shanepoch...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 28 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Don't normally leave reviews, but in this case I felt I had to. We stayed at Blo Norton hall and it was amazing. The grandchildren had a fantastic time exploring the grounds. The housekeeper made us feel most welcome on our meet and greet. Have already booked for next year....Can't wait...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2018
Looking forward to seeing you back with us. Thank you for taking the time to review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, will be back”
Reviewed 28 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Hired Blo Norton Hall for a weekend along with the barns for our mums 60th Birthday. All guests loved the house, although there at times were 35 of us we never got under each others feet. The problems reported by previous guests were not evident, the Hall and Barns were spotless, there were no fly issues or hornets visiting or any more than you would expect on a farm and the staff couldn't of been more helpful. Our Mum stayed here before some years ago and was so happy to be back. Would definitely recommend the Hall and the barns, for anyone wanting a relaxing weekend or week with your family and friends. Oh and we also hired a caterer who came to the Hall, prepared our menus, supplied waiters for serving and cleared up after our meal, was a superb way to spend your evening, although very hot we still had the big fires going in the main Dining room. Dont miss out and take no notice of previous reviews!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2018
Thank you for your review, it has been a tough Summer with many challenges but your review has lifted the spirits of our staff as they all work very hard and proud of what they do. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreapat...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful old house but needs attention I’m afraid”
Reviewed 4 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Our party of 10 adults and 5 children were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary for the weekend from August 31st. I’m sorry I have to agree on some of the things the previous person spoke about.
Blo Norton hall is a magnificent place but really does need attention..
Being very old I didn’t expect it to be a palace but there are things that need sorting out. We had hornets everywhere that we had to keep catching especially in the evening, so that had not been sorted out. Our grandson saw a mouse running up the stairs which frightened him and he didn’t want to go to bed. There was a set mousetrap behind a curtain that if a child had found it could have caused a problem. Mice had eaten some of our bread rolls. The garden was in a sorry state. The grass was so long the children couldn’t play on it and there were mole hills everywhere.
We used the barbecue but couldn’t clean it because there wasn’t anything to clean it with. The sinks were quite grubby and could have done with some bleach to clean them. The dustbin was completely full up from other people’s rubbish and was told it only goes once a fortnight so might be a good idea to get another bin.
This is the first time I’ve ever complained on trip advisor, I don’t usually say anything bad as everybody’s idea of a place differs.
, but I did feel it had a tired look for the amount of money we paid, and it does need a bit of TLC.
Luckily our party were very easy going so the problems didn’t bother us but I feel I should tell other people of our experience.
I certainly don’t want compensation but I don’t think I would book it again.. I don’t mind a place being old but not dirty.
We did have a great time though as the company was great and that’s what matters
Sorry .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2018
Thank you for your review, we are addressing the issues you mentioned and this is passed on to the relevant people to deal with. All reviews are taken very seriously.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D
North Marston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing family weekend but loads of potential”
Reviewed 1 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

All the points made below have been reported to the owners who have responded positively and may well have dealt with many of them. However we had a disappointing family weekend. The Hall has vast potential , it is charming, quirky and atmospheric, however it currently feels a bit unloved and in need of more attention to detail. Our main concerns were:

• The level of cleanliness is inadequate. On first inspection it seems OK but as soon as you need to look under furniture as we did when trying to sort out the hornet infestation and in hiding clues for a treasure hunt there are lots of cobwebs and grime. The Hall is overdue for a deep clean.
• The garden and drive are overgrown. The initial impression of the Hall is dark and dismal as the drive is overgrown and dark, you cannot drive down it without your vehicle touching the bushes on either side of the drive. We were expecting a garden we could sit out in and play games, despite the drought for several weeks beforehand the grass was long and the bushes had grown so it was not possible to walk between them without getting wet or dirty.
• The details say there are 2 gas barbeques and a coal barbeque, there is no coal barbeque, both gas barbeques were filthy and only one had any gas. We found spare gas bottles but they were chained up.
• We had a hornet infestation (each about 1.5 inches). Worst affected was the Ghost Room where the occupants had to move out on the Friday night. Maintenance responded very quickly but there were still lots around the Hall for the rest of the stay. The problem seems much worse at night and I suspect it is the light that attracts them.
• We noticed many of the plates were dirty and discovered this was because neither of the dishwashers was working properly, the one at the far end of the kitchen is much the worse of the two. We rewashed most of them by hand.
• Three of our party reported being bitten by bed bugs, the couple in the bedroom on the second floor and one of the couple in bedroom 1.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2018
Thank you for your review. After receiving your private email correspondence we immediately called in pest control and no bed bugs were reported anywhere. Making claims without evidence can be very harmful to businesses. Details of the code for the BBQs are found in the informaition book we keep on site, had this of been read you would of found it. The Hornet infestation we called pest control out to deal with straight away, nature in the countryside can be unpredictable. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and you were re-inbursed for the inconvenience you suffered, I note you did not mention this in your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 28 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

An absolutely amazing place. We were a group of 10 adults, 5 children & a baby & there was more than enough room for us all. Well equipped, we cooked a roast dinner for all & sat round the huge dining room table. The children had a great time playing hide & seek & running round the garden, watch though as there are an open water feature & a pond. The house is lovely & warm & fire places in the sitting room & dining room for an open fire with some logs provided. Said to be haunted & enough squeaky floor boards & sloping floors to keep most under the duvets at night! The only down side was the long drive down to the hall needs maintenance, our car is reasonably high & even driven carefully it caught the underside, has had to be booked in to be checked.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing