We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Staying at Stable Boys.”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room
Sitting Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Kitchen
bedroom
Bedroom other angle
Bathroom
Deer in Curwen Woods park
Curwen Woods Park
View from top of Burton Fell
Curwen Woods Parkland
View from Hutton Roof Crags to Lakeland Hills
Farleton Knott limestone paving, Nature Reserve
Sunset at Arnside
Peacock in the garden near the cottage
View of Lakeland Hills from the pond
Nearby beautiful nature walks
Summer House in Curwen Woods garden
Curwen Woods garden, a Thomas Mawson garden
Bluebells in the woods at Curwen Woods
Ancient woodland at Curwen Woods
The River Lune at Kirkby Lonsdale
Canal at Tewitfields
Curwen Woods park in the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Burton-in-Kendal, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MRS CAROL...
2 reviews
“Staying at Stable Boys.”
Reviewed 17 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stayed at Stable Boys from 9th July to 14 July 2018. It was a lovely place to stay. Very peaceful. Loved the quaint cottage we stayed in. Every thing was there that you needed. Loved the xlarge bed. Peacocks and Doves were adorable. Liked being fed on my morning cereals!!. Thomasina was really nice to speak to and also the gardener Geof. Real nice guy. The only suggestion i would make would be a grab handle in the shower for us who are less steady nowadays. Otherwise every thing was fine and recommended. Enjoy your stay who ever you will be!!. Mrs Carol and Roy Dunderdale. From Stalmine. Poulton le fylde. Lancs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M
1 review
“Haven”
Reviewed 24 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A fantastic cosy and stylish cottage on a stunning country estate. We enjoyed sipping wine on our sunny terrace admiring the peacocks; made the most of local walks straight from the door through private woods and to the limestone pavements; took in a show at the fantastic Brewery Arts Centre and a first class meal at the Plough at Lupton. Thanks to Thomasina for a heavenly stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2018
Thanks for your lovely review - it was great to have you to stay! Please come again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Gorgeous setting, comfortable but needs a bit of upgrading”
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Lots of good points i.e. setting, welcome goodies, comfortable bed, little balcony, use of tennis court etc but bit underwhelmed by the interior decor and orange pine. This cottage could be so much better with upgraded furnishings, crockery, kitchen fittings and some paintwork!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2018
Thanks for your review- have taken into consideration your comments and will look into upgrading areas without losing its quirkiness! :) safe travels!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick J
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant rural location”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect base for the lakes and dales comfortable cottage with friendly owners who are happy to help and advise on surrounding places to visit magestic peacocks come to visit and can be hand fed couldn't fault the experience

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jezcuer
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stable boy cottage”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great place to be surrounded by nature, remote but with easy access to the Lakes and great walks. The cottage is very comfortable and the surrounding grounds lovely for strolls.

Thomasina very friendly and available if needed but left us to our own devices otherwise.

The peacocks are friendly and not at all shy of people. Only downside is the Cockerel, but the quirky character of the surroundings and cottage more than make up.

Our second stay and just as enjoyable as the first.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. Yes I am sorry about the cockerel but he is such a handsome fellow and likes everyone awake as he's bored and wants some action :)
I hope the earplugs were of some use! Hope to see you both again

Thomasina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing