We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Place for Your Ring of Kerry/Ring of...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Galvins Cottage

Traditional Cottage recessed in the landscape,with stunning views, peaceful setting, cosy atmosphere
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional Cottage recessed in the landscape,with stunning views, peaceful setting, cosy atmosphere
Spectacular sea view Cosy & relaxing, get to read those several books reserved for the holidays
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Traditional Cottage recessed in the landscape,with stunning views, peaceful setting, cosy atmosphere
Spectacular sea view
Cosy & relaxing, get to read those several books reserved for the holidays
Fully equipped kitchen to cook your favourite dishes
Peaceful sleep with spectacular sea view from the bedroom
Traditional bedsteads inkeeping with cottage ambience
Magical view out the bay from all rooms
Enjoy the view for breakfast, soak up the calm atmosphere, relax with your favourite book
Ocean view from Galvins
Derrynane Beach voted No.2  in Tripadvisor 'Traveler's Choice 'Top 10 Beaches — Ireland' 2016
Spectacular Derrynane Bay & Harbour as seen from the Ring of Kerry
Situated on the Wild Atlantic Way
Gaze at the stars, area designated as an Amazing Dark Sky Reserve for its pristine skies
Safe Swimming in Derrynane  Blue Flag Beach or long romantic walks, the choice is yours!
Surf the broad Atlantic
Safe swimming in local smaller beach
One of the many Local Kerry Way walking trails, through forest, coastline and hills
Spoilt for choice: Home baking for breakfast, walking, cycling, history
Rib trips, one of the many activities the area has to offer
Changing colours of the Ring of Kerry landscape
Music at the Blind Piper, Caherdaniel where excellent food is served also
Bathroom with overhead electric shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Caherdaniel, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Tia A
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Place for Your Ring of Kerry/Ring of Dingle Adventures!”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and our friend (three of us total) spent two nights at Galvins Cottage, and it was utterly perfect! We chose this place due to it's location to Skellig Michael and our planned drives around both the Rings of Kerry and Dingle, as well as for it's solitude. It was both conveniently located and completely peaceful. We were able to head out to all three with ease.

Our biggest surprise was the night sky! We were unaware that the cottage was in the middle of the ONLY Gold Tier International Dark-Sky Reserve in the Northern hemisphere (only one of three in the world) and seeing was truly bind-blowing. Seeing the sky was worth the stay all on its own! The view during the day was stunning, as well.

The cabin itself was comfortable, cozy and had plenty of room for all three of us, with a fourth easily accommodated. Eat-in kitchen equipped with the essentials for cooking and eating (bring your own food, spices, etc), living room with a peat-heated fireplace (peat provided for at least two fires), two rooms (one with a skylight!) with adequate beds (comfortable, but please don't expect the Westin), shower and bathtub, lots of windows you can open for fresh air and a good heating system if you're chilly. They also provide a washer and dryer in an attached room that looks to be the original structure (another lovely touch) and a picnic table for outside eating and hanging out.

I recommend Galvins Cottage without hesitation to anyone looking for the perfect place to launch your Ring of Kerry and/or Ring of Dingle adventures - If I ever return to the area, I know where I'll be staying!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The combination of solitude and convenient location - and the night sky!
Liked least: The shower head is a bit low according to my travel partners (I'm short, so didn't notice).
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isame1210
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Stunning Location”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great house in a stunning location perfect for our family & pet dog. Brilliant Facilities with all you need and a great host Josephine who brought us lovely banana bread. Highly recommend for anyone looking to stay in beautiful Derrynane with the Wild Atlantic Way to explore

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views and location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thank you for your recommendation of Galvins Cottage. We really appreciate you taking the time to post the review.
Josephine & the O'Neill Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heike567
Iserlohn, Germany
1 review
“quaint cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

-quiet location above with a great view, great landscape
-very nice contact with Josephine
-comfortable and perfectly adequate for 4 people
-with dishwasher, washer and dryer

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at Galvins Cottage and highlighting its attractions.
Thank you again,
Josephine & the O'Neill Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mj_grov
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rustic cottage - right off the beaten track”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We wanted to stay in Kerry but off the beaten track and certainly got that. The cottage is exactly as pictured - small but has everything you need. Quiet but cosy. We met Josephine and she told us the history of the house which was fascinating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
We are delighted that Galvins Cottage gave you the holiday experience you wanted. Tha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jats01
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I will start with the negatives. The accommodation is very compact, although the lounge seats 4 ( 2 seater sofa & 2 chairs), if the weather isn't being kind it is impossible for all to see the tiny TV screen without re jigging them. Only a few channels are received and a bit wobbly. The DVD player didn't work for us. Jospehine came to visit late on night half way through our stay to remind us that we had to pay for electricity and heating, and to leave the money on the table from the meter readings, this wasn't mentioned when booking ( we did receiver a chocolate gift though, nice touch). The shower, although hot, was very close to the wall and you had to bend backwards to get your head wet due to the position. Double check before you arrive at the cottage where to pick keys up, I only checked once we arrived in Caherdaniel, only to find out they were in the previous village, a 40min round trip back in the direction we came from!
Now the positives. This place is great, a peaceful location, away from the road on the hillside. Beautiful views from the cottage, you will never get bored of looking out to sea, it is stunning. The area is amazing, been quite a few places and the Kerry ring coast line is by far up there in the breathtaking scenery. My youngest son took part in a kids club at Derrynane sea sports, loved it, and open all weather, although only during holidays I think. O'Carrols is less than 10mins walk away, food good, nice bar. For the price we paid I would definitely recommend, and visit again if we were back in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lounge seating
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thank you for posting a review your family holiday at Galvins Cottage. We are very pleased that you all had an enjoyable holiday experience and especially that your son liked the sea sports. Thank you for highlighting the views & scenery for which the area is renowned plus the peace & quiet. However because the cottage is a genuine traditional one there are limitations on space. My apologies for the TV reception and the DVD player, both matters of which I was unaware and are now sorted. I am sorry about the timing of my visit. I make a point of meeting all guests personally to welcome them as soon as possible after their arrival, but unfortunately due to circumstances beyond my control I was unable to make it earlier on this occasion. The extra payment for utilities is mentioned on the website but I now realise may not be immediately visible when making a booking something I will redress. As always guests who plan a return visit are most welcome so we hope you manage to do so sometime in the future.
Thank you again,
Josephine & the O?Neill Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing