We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful scenery and so relaxing”
 Westcove House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 Westcove House
Aerial winterview of Westcove House and  The Stables tken in winter a long time ago! Westcove House from walk to harbour
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Westcove House
Aerial winterview of Westcove House and  The Stables tken in winter a long time ago!
Westcove House from walk to harbour
Westcove House and terrace in winter
Pier Cottage from the terrace of Westcove House
Hall
Guests relaxing in Westcove House Sitting Room
Bar with an open fire and music centre
Dining Room
Westcove House Kitchen
View from Dining Room
Master bedroom with 6 foot double bed
Bedroom 2 with 5 foot double bed
Bedroom 5. Small single with views over the sea..
Games room in The Stables building
Derrynane Beach
Seals on nearby rocks
stcove House ground floor plan
Westcove House 1st floor plan
Westcove House, The Stables and Garden Cottage site plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Caherdaniel, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael B
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful scenery and so relaxing”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Recently stayed in Garden Cottage which was great as we had my elderly mother (90) with us - we had everything we needed downstairs with only two steps between the lounge and hallway. Upstairs also has its own shower and toilet and the twin room was very cosy. If there was any problem we only had to contact the housekeepr for help (we had no problems by the way). The food is excellent (book in advance). The house and grounds are beautiful and a short walk down to the pier is also rewarding. There are so many restaurants and attractions withing reasonable driving distance. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacful beautiful location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjtemw
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A dream rental for a group of friends -- 15 from New Jersey in our case"”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

With heavy hearts and heads full of memories, our group left Westcove after an unforgettable week. Collectively and individually, these 15 from New Jersey left with a fresh appreciation for Ireland, it's people, their history and the geography, molded in good measure by our Westcove experience.

We rented the House, the Stables and the Cottage. We loved reading of the history of the house, while enjoying the modern facilities as much as the quirks of the layout! The inhabitants of the House, the Stables, and the Cottage all felt that they were in special, unique surroundings. Our group size we felt was perfect, as we were all able to gather in the dining room for dinner, and the living room and bar in the evening for drinks, songs and story telling. One night, we had a ceilidh in the games room in the Stables, music by Bernie and Trish. Great fun! No one allowed to sit it out!

The meals prepared by Katherine, our housekeeper, were I think the best we enjoyed anywhere, and at an unbeatable value. What a treasure! Always available to help us, whatever we needed, a wonderful link to the community.

We liked the Westcove Bakery, just outside the gate. Jane was very popular with our group for her morning croissants, lunchtime quiches, and on one night, homemade pizza and pie fresh from the oven, delivered to our door.

Our group collectively or singly enjoyed walking, hiking, golf, shopping, a trip with Gerrit around the Ring, the market in Kenmare, a day trip across the water to the Beara, pub music and more.

Could not recommend more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Matchless location on Ring of Kerry
Liked least: Rain!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P C
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“The Perfect Alternative Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were looking for something different from the usual wedding venue, and when found Westcove we knew we were on to something special. After meeting Suzannah and Katherine, we instantly knew we had found our venue.

Westcove House is an amazing property and is ideal for couples that want to create a bespoke wedding. With the help of our friends, family and Katherine and her team we pulled of a truly intimate and unique wedding, stretching the celebrations over a three day weekend.

For the big day, Katherine and her team helped us to host a drinks reception with tasty canapés, a delicious three course meal and mid night nibbles of artisan cheese and breads. Every guest commented on how delicious the food was and complimented the friendly staff who were so warm and welcoming.

We are very grateful to all at Westcove for a weekend we will cherish forever!

Claire and Paul

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahmyer...
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Wedding in Westcove”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My Husband and I had our wedding celebration at Westcove House in August 2014 and it was perfect. We were able to house our guests on site for the week- the houses were all beautiful and very comfortable. The setting is peaceful and beautiful. We had everything we could need and more at the house. Susanne was excellent to work with when booking and planning our trip- provided many excellent tips and was easy to access for questions. Once we arrive Katherine made us comfortable and was there to help with anything we needed. The house was the perfect location to take day trips and hikes from. We cannot wait to visit again.

The house worked perfectly for a wedding celebration. We did a small ceremony on the front lawn, had dinner in the dining room, local musicians playing, and celebration in the stables. It could not have been more perfect of a location to get married. The food by Katherine and others was superb. We had dancing lessons with Bernie the night prior which allowed us to attempt some Irish dancing during the reception which was a blast. The venue was perfect for a wedding and made all guests feel comfortable and at home. I highly recommend Westcove House for anyone considering for vacation or wedding accommodations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wadiyaman
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Getting Together”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our group of friends, scattered across the globe, gathers annually to catch up, swap old memories, cook good food and drink fine wines.This time we were 15, and Westcove House was the perfect venue: a large old stone house with a magnificent view of a cove and its attendant gray seals. We also took one of the other buildings on the property for those who didn't quite fit in, but there was plenty of room around the dining table for all of us. Grocery shopping was a car ride away, but one of the delights was the Westcove bakery just outside the gate that sold us fresh croissants every morning. We had freakishly good weather for most of the week. A core group of trekkers spent many happy hours on several legs of the Kerry Way, a trail that wends a scenic route over craggy mountains, green valleys, through bogs and forests and along the coast. Others explored the incredible coastline and cliffs by car. The highlight was the boat trip to the Skellig rocks during the puffin nesting season. Westcove House was comfortable, spacious, and well stocked. Susanna, the owner, took pains to lay out all our options. Katherine the housekeeper was a cheerful guide in all things. If there was a fault it was the limited area of internet reception -- although some of our hardworking colleagues found that a blessed excuse for a break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location on a cove
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$509
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing