We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 day fishing trip ”

Andaman Game Fishing
Ranked #15 of 16 Tours in Havelock Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Andaman Game Fishing is a premium game fishing operator in the Andaman & Nicobar Islands of India. The Andaman and Nicobar Islands form an archipelago, which is located about 2000 km from the coast off India, 750 km off Thailand in the Indian Ocean. Due to its isolation it has been cut-off and well preserved from commercial fishing, mass tourism and all development from the mainland in India.
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Had an excellent trip with Andaman Game Fishing.

4 days inshore - around islands fishing for Giant Treavlly (GT) and one day offshore fishing at Barren Island.

Caught a nice 40kg GT first day.

Mainly popping and stick bait fishing.

Trip to Barren Island was excellent. Caught GT, dogtooth Tuna, lost a big yellowfin, wahoo and fishing buddy caught a Napoleon.

Excellent crew (captain Gautam) and good boats. Well stock cooler and good lunch too.

Will be fishing with them often in the future.

I will let the pictures do the talking

Date of experience: April 2018
3  Thank nyati375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"big ones"
in 2 reviews
"dogtooth tuna"
in 2 reviews
"port blair"
in 2 reviews
"gts"
in 3 reviews
"qutub"
in 3 reviews
"captain"
in 4 reviews
"species"
in 2 reviews
"parts"
in 2 reviews
"rigging"
in 2 reviews
"onshore"
in 2 reviews
"barren"
in 2 reviews
"boats"
in 4 reviews
"island"
in 5 reviews
"team"
in 4 reviews
"andaman"
in 8 reviews
"havelock"
in 3 reviews
"water"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

We booked our trip (6 days) online in April 2017 over the internet side.

All our questions were answered in short time.

After some weather reasoned problems we made it finally to Havelock Island.

There the stuff was already waiting to support us with our luggage and brought us to our hotel.

After a short recovery time we and our Tackle were picked up again and went on our first trip.

The weather in the first days just allowed us to fish in the wind shadows of the island around. But already here it is already possible to get in touch with the BIG ones.

We nearly get all our targets species, just the Dogtooth Tuna is missing.

In summary we had over 15 different kind of species (such as trevallies, groupers, tunas, snappers, billfish).

The Andamanes are a really good destination for Popping & Jigging. The scenery is incredible. Untouched islands in clear bluewater!

The fishing pressure in Havelock is really small compared to other destinations. Sometimes we did not saw any other guiding boats, just a few local fishing boats.

The service on board and around the fishing was always perfect.

Although we had weather reasoned problems to get from Port Blair to Havelock, the stuff organized the necessary overstays and additional transports.

On board the crew support you with making knots, lure selection and landing of the fishing.

The captain Qutub always discussed with us the strategy of the day according to weather & tide situation.

With lots of humor he makes the parts of "non-catching" always amusing.

Softdrinks, Snacks and Lunch were included. The lunch is pretty good local food and more than you need.

After each fishing trip and an necessary shower we were picked up for a short meeting in Qutubs shop in the town. There we could use the WLAN to keep in touch with the outside world and share our adventures with our family & friends.

Bye the way: Qutubs wife is making the loveliest dessert on the island. Every evening we started with dessert, before we went to dinner!

Even if we don't not landed the really big GTs (biggest 30kg) on this trip, we can recommend Andaman Game Fishing.

The waters around habitat these fishes! And with these guys you are able to get it hooked! The rest is up to you!

Some tips from my side: bring along just the strongest hooks on the market! I could not believe that the GTs bend or break Owner 5/0 hooks in the first run of the fish.

Also you should have some resistant "light tackle" on board. You never know who is showing up (In our case a 2 meter sailfish). On the other side it is really nice to catch the nice colored fishes inshore, when it is to shoppy outside.

5 of 5 stays for Andaman Game Fishing

BR, Henry

Date of experience: October 2017
3  Thank Daywalker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We booked for Kayaking in the Mangroves with Andaman Game Fishing. Unfortunately, sea receded a bit. We were offered Kayaking to the light house, instead. It was a fantastic experience. It's hard to get such passionate people as a guide,Subrato. It was a bit tiring going towards the light house, but the return trip was easy. Waves got us home, I guess. Completely professional approach.

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank Karthikeyan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

I have fished with Andman Game Fishing twice. I first found them while traveling and thought I would give it a try. Fishing....Great...Service....Great! Upon completion of the first trip I immediately booked again for the following year. There a few parts of this trip. Guy and Qutub spend a great deal of time communicating while booking and all of your questions will be answered. If you want something specific ask. Getting to Havelock from the West is a bit of an adventure, however once you arrive in Port Blair you will not have to worry about a thing. You will be picked up immediately after arrival and should not have any trouble getting to your location. I was met at every destination by a member of the team.
I have not had a chance to hit the Andaman's when the fishing is red hot but it has not mattered, there are plenty of fish and the crew works hard to put you on them. If you are looking for a modern day "Fishing Safari" or just have an extra day on the Island I think you will have a great trip. Many different species and there are some monsters lurking. All I can say is that there is nothing quite like seeing the water explode around a popper and feel the line start ripping off a reel. Don't forget there is no better way to see the Islands than from the water.

Date of experience: January 2017
3  Thank 4forestg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Amazing place to be and great activity with the entire family. We fished 2 days on board of Calipso and caught many species: The crew on board were very helpfull and were trying really hard to put us on the big ones. Overall great service and value for money!

Date of experience: January 2016
3  Thank Elvier123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andaman Game Fishing also viewed

Havelock Island, Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Havelock Island, Andaman and Nicobar Islands
 
Havelock Island, Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Port Blair, South Andaman Island
 

Been to Andaman Game Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing