We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A piece of paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of runaway to maleny

Bar b cue deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bar b cue deck
Polley and Lover
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Bar b cue deck
Polley and Lover
Bamboo Chapel
Guest Bedroom
Guest Kitchen Table
Guest Kitchenette
Guest lounge and massage chair
Guest showers
Bar b que deck
Flying Fox
Shala
Our Backyard Waterfall
Trampoline Deck
Swimming Hole in the Obi Obi Creek
Guest Bathroom
Angle Wings Lotus
Trampoline
Creek Flat
Main Kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Lower Deck
Main Dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Maleny, Sunshine Coast, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cordellmi...
Camden, Australia
1 review
“A piece of paradise”
Reviewed 6 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

From the moment we booked our stay, we knew we were in very capable hands. Jen and Ian were both incredibly friendly and helpful in ensuring that my family were catered and cared for when staying on their property. With four adults and four children staying on their property as well as two adults staying a house away they kept in contact via phone and email in the lead up to our stay to assist us in any way they could.

From the second we arrived we were all captivated by the gorgeous surroundings, from the tall trees to the sounds of birds and flowing water we knew we were going to have a lovely stay.

The children loved exploring the land, feeding the chickens, patting the most friendly cat, jumping on the trampoline and swinging on the swings amongst the trees.

The facilities we fantastic also, with a warm wood fire our nights were cosy and waking up in the morning to a floor to ceiling window with gorgeous views and hearing trickles of water from the creek it was truly a piece of paradise.

We would definitely love to stay again, but for much longer next time! Thank you so much, Jen and Ian for making us feel so welcome and allowing us to have such an enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2018
How delightful it was to have Cordell and her wonderful family stay at Runaway. As soon as they arrived they just went for it and were just so appreciative of everything and took great care to leave everything as they'd found it. We truly can't wait to have them back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nattyw85
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Great stay, a peaceful paradise!”
Reviewed 25 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Runaway was great from the moment booked to the end of our stay. The hosts Ian and Jen are excellent at communicating and are very helpful. They were also very kind and accommodating to my 6 month old baby and helped us with whatever we needed.
The house and location is perfect. The house is clean, spacious, fully equipped with whatever you need and the king size beds are very comfortable. The location is less than 10 minutes from Maleny town. The grounds is what makes this place the most special, they are so well looked after with beautiful green grass to relax on and the whole property is surrounded by trees which really makes it so beautiful and peaceful. We didn't want to leave! We had no wifi or phone service so be ready to completely switch off and relax! We will be visiting again as soon as we can.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2018
It was lovely to have Natalie and her family stay at Runaway - so open and friendly, appreciative and understanding. We look forward to having you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margot A
1 review
“absolutely amazing back to nature fun and relaxation”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in November 2017

great location not far from maleny or montville. so many things to enjoy on the property, great way to experience good old fashioned outdoor fun. Owners are so lovely and easy to deal with. Loved the massage chair and shower. Lovely restaurants and shops in the area, also enjoyed trekking to the waterfalls close by. Will be visiting again as soon as we get another break

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2018
It was just wonderful to have Margot and Craig here to stay at Runaway - they absolutely made the most of it and were delightful to deal with. We would love to have them back any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kylied162
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, peaceful and calming”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Jen and Ian have such an amazing house, the location is peaceful and so calming. The fire was amazing and the wall to ceiling windows are like you are living outside. Large open areas and such a private location. Jen and Ian were so fantastic to deal with, I would go back in flash.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2018
Wow - and we'd have you back in a flash Kylie and Clinton.
Delightful, open caring and appreciative ones.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64tracey
Ipswich qld
1 review
“Peace, tranquility....ah heaven”
Reviewed 23 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The sunshine coast hinterland is a gorgeous, green and peaceful place to get away from the hassles of everyday living. 'Runaway to Maleny' was a gem we never expected to find. On a property filled with lush bushland and a wonderful creek just perfect for a refreshing dip, we found just what we needed to refresh and recharge after a long week at work. The property is a home away from home with everything you could possibly need. Self contained unit featuring a pool table, barbeque area and games and a trampoline for the kids. Jen and Ian are the loveliest couple, warm and welcoming, making us feel right at home from the start. We enjoyed a great massage in the Shala from lovely Helena, getting rid of all our kinks. And I just loved banging the gong at the entrance to alert all to our arrival. Maleny cheese just around the corner was a delicious place to stop and enjoy a quick lunch while choosing some great cheeses, yoghurts and condiments to bring home. Being close to both Maleny and Monteville we enjoyed a great variety of cuisines as well as some great shopping, arts and crafts. Overall an absolutely delightful place to stay for a weekend. We can't wait for our next trip to Maleny.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2018
Wow Tracey,
What a fabulous review. It really means so much to us to have such delightful folk thoroughly enjoy themselves at Runaway. You certainly made the most of your stay and we'd just love to have you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing