We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location, Very Relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of African Cottage

African Cottage Living Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
African Cottage Living Area
African Cottage Front Verandah African Cottage Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
African Cottage Living Area
African Cottage Front Verandah
African Cottage Kitchen
African Cottage BBQ Area
African Cottage Bedroom 1
African Cottage Bedroom 2
African Cottage Bedroom 3
Spacious African themed cottage surrounded by lush tropical gardens. To relax body and soul!
Rolling Green Hills Of Maleny
Tiger The Resident Cat
Resident Guinea Fowl
Rolling Green Hills Of Maleny
Matilda Scarfe Your Host
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Maleny, Sunshine Coast, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
1960BLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Great Location, Very Relaxing”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What a great find! We travelled with our daughter, son in law and 2 Grandchildren. Matilda made us feel right at home, we will be back infact I am organising for a group of us to stay in August for my birthday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
Thanks for your kind words! And we look forward to spoiling you for your birthday in August! Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M
Hervey Bay
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cosy country getaway”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We loved our midweek stay in the Rondawell cottage, cosy, comfortable and a very relaxing place to chill and feel at home. Matilda was very welcoming, dinner was lovely and the daily visits from Tiger the cat were a pleasure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness of the place, not sterile,full of character
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
Loved having you - and so did Tiger! He gets thoroughly spoiled by guests like you. And hope to see you back again! Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenmcco...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievably gorgeous stay!”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Matilda and everyone else at African Cottages for a stunning mid-week holiday! We just loved the huge big A-frame cottage with the warm fireplace and cosy bedrooms. Loved the full sized kitchen too with the granite bench tops! And the huge big gas stove!! We also really enjoyed the delicious meal that you prepared for us! We will definitely be back again one day soon! Thanks again, Helen!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a full sized refrigerator to hold our champagne! And the full sized stove to cook on! And the warm fireplace!
Liked least: Can't think of anything we liked least!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2015
Thanks for being so kind to us Helen! We love what we are doing, and hopefully it shows. And with guests like you it is easy! You will receive your voucher soon so we hope to see you here before long. Better still, come and join me next year on our Gourmet Safari to South Africa!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff R
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relax in Africa”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a lovely relaxing time staying in the African Cottage. Our family of 9 fitted in no problem plus our two little dogs. Matilda is a lovely host and she cooked us a great African meal on the first night which was enjoyed by all. Just one point to make about a build up of dust under the beds. The cleaner really needs to be checked on. Other than that, it is a great place and we would love to go back again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Africa feel and food
Liked least: Dust under the beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
It was a pleasure to have you here! Your kids were well behaved, Tiger didn't like your dogs, but they were so cute! Would love you to come back. Sorry about the dust - promise I'll make sure they clean under there! And thanks for the compliment about our food. We love cooking, so we love it when our guests enjoy it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A dump.”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in the Cape Cottage or should I say shed. A fibro outbuilding that was covered in cobwebs. Inside visible surfaces were clean but windows, blinds, under and behind furniture was filthy and thick with dust. Inside cutlery draws and crockery draws were dirty which meant everything in them needed to be washed before use. The kitchenette was suitable for tea and coffee making only. All other cooking was supposed to be done on a small ill kept BBQ on the back verandah. The sofa was ok for midgets but once seated you were below the height of the coffee table. The bed was hard, lumpy and uncomfortable. The bathroom was fine except for K Mart quality towels that were thin and like sandpaper.
As for the meals available even my dog would have thought twice about them.
A good indication about what was to come was the Welcome Letter that was more like an army instruction form in its tone and ended with a warning "do not put negative reviews on Trip Advisor and other sites just tell us your concerns". That says to me they know many people are unhappy with them but they ignore complaints. We were told the cleaner had not turned up and they did the best they could. I don't think the cleaner had ever turned up.
Reviews are to give factual accounts of the accommodation not to pander up to owners who give sub standard products.
The larger cottages may have been better but I didn't see in them.
Maleney and Montville are worth a visit and there is much better accommodation available there at similar or cheaper prices.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: getting out of there
Liked least: everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
I have just come back from doing the rounds at all the cottages to check if everyone is happy. Tick - everyone happy and having a wonderful time! So I'm just wondering if this guest actually has the right location. I read our reviews, and all are glowing reports of how much they enjoyed themselves. So what went wrong here? I would really like to know. Such a pity our unhappy guests couldn't just come and talk to us. We would have fixed their problems on the spot. Because we pride ourselves on this lovely place we have here. Maybe that is why we have the Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence. They don't give those out easily! And talk about Tripadvisor - we ask guests to review us, on the advise of Tripadvisor.! The biggest hurt and insult was our food. After reading glowing after glowing revues about our delicious food, it was the ultimate insult that the guest would not give it to her dog! Or the dog would not like it. The most traditional Malay dish - absolutely delicious! I'm really sorry you did not like it. Sure we have spiderwebs - we are in the country after all! Sure the bed, or the towels, or the couch does not satisfy everyone. We apologise for that. But we really feel that the criticism was not fair. We are a fabulous establishment, loved by all. But there is always that ONE person you just cannot please.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$211
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing