We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Australian Butterfly Sanctuary
from US$16.16
More Info
from US$136.47
More Info
from US$62.99
More Info
from US$206.93
More Info
Reviews (1,326)
Filter reviews
1,326 results
Traveller rating
766
408
115
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
766
408
115
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful butterflies butterflies flying cairns birdwing eggs free tour different species lovely experience entry fee caterpillar ulysses laboratory moths nursery flutter cocoons hatching hundreds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,326 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2021 via mobile

I’d never been to a butterfly sanctuary and therefore had no idea what to expect. I was absolutely blown away by this butterfly sanctuary. It is one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen. The pricing was extremely fair, $20 for adults and $10 for children. Family passes were also available. Would highly recommend to anyone passing by Kuranda or even Cairns.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank mgsantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Digital & Media Manager at Australian Butterfly Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2021

Hi,

Thanks so much for visiting the Australian Butterfly Sanctuary and for leaving your review.

We are so happy to hear that you were impressed with our Sanctuary and enjoyed meeting our beautiful butterflies.

We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2021 via mobile

Lovely hour spent here with the kids. No tours during our viait, self guided was fine though. Check opening times via phone as website not reliable. Wear white... the butterflies love it and land on you for a great picture!

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank Mc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Digital and Media Manager at Australian Butterfly Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2021

Hi,

Thanks so much for visiting the Australian Butterfly Sanctuary and for leaving your review.

It's fantastic to hear that you and the kids enjoyed meeting our beautiful butterflies!

We aim to update our website times as frequently as possible, apologies if there was any discrepancy! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2021 via mobile

$70 and I’ve seen more butterflies in my garden - bitterly disappointed. Don’t waste your money it only took 15 minutes tops to go round and that was being generous!

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank Hogg2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G, Digital and Media Manager at Australian Butterfly Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2021

Hi,

Thanks so much for visiting Australian Butterfly Sanctuary and for taking the time to leave your feedback. We house around 1500 butterflies on site at any one time, which is the largest butterfly flight aviary and exhibit in Australia. We think that is quite impressive!

Adult entry is $20, $10 for children, and locals even get 20% off those prices. We hope that you were able to go on a complimentary guided aviary and laboratory tour to enhance your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2021 via mobile

Quite small compared to others I’ve been into, staff were friendly, doing their best for covid compliance but people don’t follow instructions or physical distance. Quite a few butterflies, but less than I expected. Worth a visit if going out to Kuranda.

Date of experience: January 2021
2  Thank TabithaAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Digital & Media Manager at Australian Butterfly Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2021

Hi,

Thanks so much for visiting the Australian Butterfly Sanctuary and for taking the time to leave a review.

It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you were impressed by our team. We are the largest butterfly flight aviary in the Southern Hemisphere and have around 1500 butterflies on display. However, the weather and time of day my effect how active they are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2021 via mobile

We had a good time in here, not as many butterflies as the last time we went and no blue ones, which was disappointing.

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank DandAMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Digital & Media Manager at Australian Butterfly Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2021

Hi,

Thanks so much for visiting the Australian Butterfly Sanctuary (again!)

We are so happy to hear that you had a good time. We are sorry to hear that you didn't think that there was enough butterflies. There are around 1500 free flying butterflies in our aviary, however the weather and time of day can impact how active our butterflies are.

Over the years, we have had many issues affecting our Ulysses breeding program, however, we were lucky to have them in our aviary for most of 2020.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews