We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access, good bird viewing”

Hasties Swamp National Park
Ranked #4 of 16 things to do in Atherton
Attraction details
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Located just off the Atherton-Herberton road, Hasties Swamp provides a pleasant waterside location with a couple of bird viewing locations.

Plenty of water birds about when we visited, mainly ducks.

Worth the short detour if in the area: allow 45 minutes or so.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank bobjanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"magpie geese"
in 8 reviews
"bird hide"
in 10 reviews
"water birds"
in 3 reviews
"white ibis"
in 2 reviews
"two stories"
in 2 reviews
"bird watchers"
in 2 reviews
"great birding"
in 2 reviews
"sarus cranes"
in 2 reviews
"binoculars"
in 4 reviews
"hundreds"
in 5 reviews
"eared"
in 4 reviews
"stilts"
in 2 reviews
"jacana"
in 2 reviews
"grubs"
in 3 reviews
"kingfisher"
in 2 reviews
"tablelands"
in 3 reviews
"australasian"
in 2 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

It was cool and wet so we decided to Atlas the birds at Hasties. We ran into a local photographer who was capturing wonderful shots of the egrets. We saw over 90 pink eared ducks, hardheads, plumed whistling, freckled ducks as well as magpie geese, grebes and many other water birds. In the past I have also seen many Brolgas.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Went to Hasties Swamp to photograph birds while visiting Atherton. The bird hide is great, built of timber, spacious and two stories, it allows a good view of the bird life. It was quite popular while we were there with several other couples visiting to bird watch.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Great bird hide two stories high. You can watch from either the lower or higher level. Lots of ducks on the water! Pretty location as a backdrop.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank jillpearce63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2018

We went to the Hasties Swamp National Park. Our goal was to find birds and take some pictures of them. It was a long hot walk, but we were able to take pictures of birds. That was so cool!

At times were discouraged, but we persevered and found what we were looking for. And all that for free!

It is a great place for those who like birds.

This is perfect for bird lovers.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Robby G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hasties Swamp National Park also viewed

 
Atherton, Queensland
Atherton, Queensland
 

Been to Hasties Swamp National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing