We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicole willinger”
Review of The Crystal Caves

The Crystal Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.50*
and up
The Crystal Caves Self-Guided Tour
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Atherton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One hour from Cairns on the Atherton Tableland, share one man’s passion for crystals and fossils. On this self-guided tour, you journey through 300m2 of man-made tunnels and grottos with million year old natural crystals and prehistoric fossils. Interactive crystal displays allow you to feel and photograph and even crack your own…
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

I love this place! The upgrade on the caves is fantastic! The specimens are gorgeous. I especially love the lapas carving ❤️ Lucky I live local and can visit often

Thank NWillinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghislaine G, Manager at The Crystal Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thanks for your lovely review! We appreciate your frequent patronage and support over all the years! We look forward to welcoming you next time you visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"amazing collection"
in 19 reviews
"cracking open"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful crystals"
in 11 reviews
"real cave"
in 8 reviews
"on display"
in 13 reviews
"crystal collection"
in 4 reviews
"private collection"
in 5 reviews
"gift shop"
in 10 reviews
"million years"
in 4 reviews
"entry fee"
in 9 reviews
"for sale"
in 7 reviews
"rose quartz"
in 4 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 4 reviews
"unique experience"
in 5 reviews
"take photos"
in 4 reviews
"gems"
in 53 reviews
"geodes"
in 93 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

A must see in Atherton, even if you aren't into rocks and crystals. The way the collection is set up is fantastic

Thank staceyswan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghislaine G, Manager at The Crystal Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for you review and appreciation for what René has built to display his collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

My wife was really keen to visit and I wasn’t sure what to expect, however I wasn’t prepared to be so surprised by what we found.
You can really feel Renē’s life’s passion and his quirky exuberance in the truly incredible collection.
We ended up spending hours relaxing and experiencing the whole place.
The ladies there are wonderful and helpful. It really was one of the best things we have seen while traveling FNQ.
You must explore the cave! I almost missed this!

Thank travisty2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghislaine G, Manager at The Crystal Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

I am pleased that your wife dragged you in! Since it really is a bizarre concept that Rene built 300m2 of manmade caves to house a massive collection of crystals and fossils, you really do have to see it to believe it.
Thank you for your kind words towards our staff, we really are very lucky to have such a dedicated team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We spent a couple of hours browsing the amazing collection of crystals and fossils, The giant amethyst was truly stunning, what an achievement to own this fabulous piece. The jewellery was lovely too. Staff were informative and very entertaining, we especially liked the crystal showpieces on the shelf behind the cash desk!!!Thanks girls for a great fun afternoon.

Thank lindawhymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghislaine G, Manager at The Crystal Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you for your review! We can only blame the fabulous Brazilians for the 'unique carvings' behind the counter. We do have a lot of fun in the store and enthusiastic visitors like yourselves make our job so much fun. Thanks agan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2018

Loved it, spent over 2hrs in there, was a really interesting place to visit. They had only just finished updating the lights and the crystal pool with the mammoth geod, so it was good timing.

Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghislaine G, Manager at The Crystal Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

You sure did pick great timing! The new lights and big geode look spectacular! thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crystal Caves also viewed

 

Been to The Crystal Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing